Towards Birling Gap

_DS83576Just occasionally it makes a change to soften an image slightly to create something that is a little closer to the posters that were a feature of the travel industry several decades ago.

This image was taken from close to Beachy Head and also near where The Glittering Sea image was taken. It Looks westwards towards Birling Gap – a prominent indentation in the coastline visible to the right of the screen and immediately below the yellowish cliff.

From there clearly visible is part of the famous Seven Sisters  – an undulating series of hills and ‘gaps’ between Birling Gap and Seaford (the next town along the South coast). Hopefully a walk that I will tread sometime this summer.

You should be able to click on any image in my posts to see a higher quality enlargement (still possible in older posts), but that ability has been sadly missing for some time now and despite posting an entry on WordPress forums no-one from WordPress seems to have done anything about it. Any one out there having the same problem or am I unique?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Coast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Towards Birling Gap

  1. vastlycurious.com says:

    How beautiful is this !!!

    Like

  2. Val Goldfinch says:

    I love the softness of the photo, it has the feel of a painting, what a wonderful view!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      It is a wonderful view and thanks so much for your comment, Val. You would love painting this coastline I’m sure, although the chalk cliffs are dramatic there is also a distinct beauty in the gentle undulations of the South Downs.

      Like

  3. Very beautiful picture

    Like

  4. Chillbrook says:

    That really is a wonderful image Andy. So reminiscent of the railway posters.. wonderufl stuff. As it stands, if you click on an image on my blog, you still get the enlargement. For months I had a problem with the featured image and Facebook. The featured image that used to appear was some bizzare crop of usually my signature at the bottom of my blog. The problem was fixed eventually but it did take a long time to get sorted. I hope you can get this fixed asap.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Glad you recall those Railway posters and see the connection. I hope they solve the imaging problem – last week it was gallery images that weren’t displaying and I know that affected a lot of blogs. WordPress seems very opaque when there is a problem – you can’t get at an engineer in support.

      Like

  5. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a magnificent view this is!

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    It’s a beautiful image, of a beautiful place. The colors and the curves combine for an extraordinary appeal. It’s one of those photos that makes me think, “I want to go there. Now.”

    As to the photo problems, you’re not alone. Another photographer I follow was complaining about it just a day or two ago. Another blogger I follow was tearing her hair out over the issue in November, but I see that she’s rectified things, and her images are clickable again. I left a query on her blog, asking how she managed to solve the issue. I’ll pass on any information I get.

    I tried to figure it out myself, tonight, and the kindest thing I can say about the WP system for posting images is “not intuitive.”

    Like

  7. One word will suffice: YOWZA. 🙂

    Like

  8. Andy! This is just magnificent; it almost literally took my breath away when I first saw it. And I agree with the others who’ve said it has a painterly quality to it.

    I am having the same “annoying problem” and look forward (not in vain, I hope!) for a solution.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Melinda – this image seems to have gone down well, and to think I wasn’t sure whether to post it or not. One of the hardest things is to be objective about one’s work. Interested to hear you have the same problem – if I get to a solution before you I’ll let you know

      Like

  9. A stunning image Andy 😄

    Like

  10. Meanderer says:

    Love the vintage feel to this image, Andy; a reminder of holidays years ago.

    Regarding your image problem, Gary at https://krikitarts.wordpress.com/2016/04/06/the-daphne-development/#comment-49021 is having the same issue. I hope it gets sorted soon.

    Like

  11. I never would have thought of softening the image this much—so glad you did. The effect is spectacular.

    I have noticed that photos on others’ blogs are not opening to the larger size. Thought it was the bloggers’ choice and wondered why they chose it. For those blogs I’ve been resorting to Command–+ (on my Mac), which usually gets me a somewhat larger image.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      I’m glad you like it, Linda. My curiosity to try something out (knowing it can always be reversed in Photoshop) sometimes yields surprising results and this was one of them. The image problem is now solved as you many have seen in my most recent post.

      Like

  12. Len says:

    Great landscape, great processing and terrific mood Andy. This is something special.

    Like

  13. Pingback: Cool Photography Links Of The Week (#199) – Sit Back And Enjoy! | Tech News

Comments are closed.