The Glittering Sea

_DS83899I am beginning to realize what makes the South coast special: it’s the fact that on a sunny day you look out onto a glittering, sparkling sea created by the sun’s lazy trajectory across the sky.

When I look out at scenes like the one above I feel a childish delight which is not diminished by repetition; and although the image may be somewhat hackneyed I make no apology for capturing it or showing it, and I’m certain that when I see a similar scene it will be impossible for me to resist the urge to shoot another frame of it.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, WaterScapes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Glittering Sea

  1. seekraz says:

    I like it very much, Andy…and don’t blame you a bit for not being able to resist making more images of it…the scene is very compelling and begs for attention.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    It’s a beautiful scene Andy and you’re quite right to make no apology for it. Every photographer brings something of themselves to a photograph or scene no matter how many times it’s been photographed and the word cliche I feel is used far to much by critics as well as judges in competitions both club and national. It’s very lazy and far too easy to do in my humble opinion. Fabulous photograph!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Adrian. I agree with what you say. Unfortunately there are so many of us capable of taking good pics on phones, compacts or SLRs, and almost guaranteed good results, that images like this do get devalued. It doesn’t bother me personally because nowadays I shoot what I want to shoot. Trying to be ‘in fashion’ or aping what seems to get noticed really is not my scene any longer – and that is what makes photography fun for me – I just do my own thing! And I’m glad you like it. The boat turned up on cue.

  3. Not hackneyed at all Andy – an irresistable subject!

  4. Lisa Gordon says:

    Such a beautifully peaceful image.

  5. shoreacres says:

    Every sailor I know has a collection of sunrise and sunset photos taken from the water. I do, too. Why keep taking such photos? Because every one is different: different light, different colors, different sky, different photographer, different perspective.

    It’s interesting how this resembles your recent photo of the people on the beach. Here, the sailboat works in the same way: to make the space tangible, and focus the eye.

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes so true, Linda. Every day is different and for such a simple composition – water and sea separated by a straight line horizon (unless the weather’s bad) – it’s extraordinary how different that scene can look from one day to the next. Expect a few more like this over the coming months.

  6. Incredible!
    I started blogging last week, and it is a pleasure that I came across your blog.
    It has inspired me to start my third article.
    Thank you:)

    • LensScaper says:

      Welcome to my blog and thanks very much for your comment. I’ve never regretted starting a blog – it has brought me into so many like-minded people and I wish you well with your own blog.

  7. No need for any excuses. I feel the same childish delight as you, just looking at your photo. To be on the sea, sailing into open waters… A beautiful image.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Otto. It’s good to know from you and others that we share the same sentimental attachment to scenes like these irrespective of how often we have seen or captured them. Many years ago I sailed in small boats and once in a larger one and there is something special of being out on the water on a good day.

Comments are closed.