Locked-In

At some point over the last two and a half years all of us will have experienced some form of Lock Down. Our liberty was curtailed. In the UK there was a period when one could only leave the house once a day and we could not travel far from our normal residence. We were, in effect Locked In.

It resulted in a new approach to life, or approaches. Bewilderment at first perhaps and then maybe a stoical state of mind as one surveyed the house and garden and grudgingly, or enthusiastically, realised this might be the time to tackle a task that had been gathering metaphorical dust for a very long time.

I tackled a series of tasks, all fairly minor, most of them relating to piles of paper, or volumes of data. The filing cabinet was shrunk, folders were thinned, and the archives of images were re-indexed and ruthlessly culled.

I didn’t get a lot of photography done…except at home. I discovered the beauty of the light that streamed through the gaps in the blinds. The mix of shadow and light projected on floor, wall, cupboards or furnishings.

The two triptychs above were a way of relating a small set of images. And there were also other images that stood on their own. Over a couple of years I have shot around 200 images, most of them on an iPhone. The images change by the minute – sometimes I sit in a chair staring at a cupboard or the floor and watch time go by as the light subtley shifts. Not only does it change by the minute, but t through the seasons too. It’s been a whole new world of imaging

Here are four more stand-alone images.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Locked-In

  1. Sue says:

    Well, I was in part prepared for lockdown as my health nosedives, I don’t get out anywhere near as much. And I came to find that “I discovered the beauty of the light that streamed through the gaps in the blinds.

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    You can get some great images that way – here’s one: https://suejudd.com/2020/11/23/lines-and-shadows/

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    There’s a certain irony in the fact that the play of sun and shadow in these images so closely resemble the bars of a prison. Seeing them, I’m reminded again of the way circumstances conspired to allow me freedom from the kind of constraints so many experienced in the past two-plus years. I’m glad you’re freer now — and that you got some of those files sorted!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you for that observation; something that had never occurred to me but is now blindingly obvious! It’s a reminder of how we see someone else’s work in a completely different light. I’m still sorting paper, files and images!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. bluebrightly says:

    It’s beautiful work and there’s no doubt that you used the time well. It’s hard to imagine that kind of lockdown – of course, I read about but here, it was completely different. There was never a time we couldn’t go places, except that many places shut their doors. But no one restricted our movement. Still, our lives became much smaller. What a strange few years it’s been! Thank you for showing these and writing about your experience.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment Lynn. It was a very strange few months. I believe one of the outcomes was that it taught me to see a little differently. To never regard a place as bereft of possibilities, but to search for an image, and being excited with what could be found. It was as if life became a challenge.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.