Chance Finding-2

Hot on the heels of the small clutch of reeds in my previous post – Chance Finding – I spotted this line of reed stems. Some standing proud, others bowed and bent – each one reflected – they suggested a Hieroglyph.

Images like this, divorced from any other feature within the water, appear to float in space: which is why they appeal to me so much. They are also transient – in a few days this creation of shapes will be amended as the reeds grow. The composition might improve, but more likely it will become muddled and the simplicity of the current form will be lost.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chance Finding-2

  1. paula graham says:

    they surely act as a magnet to most photographers. these have lovely shapes.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Paula. Images are always about shape and form – but sometimes those elements are in the small things. So often we look at the big picture and ignore the detail.

      Like

  2. Sue says:

    Love it! I’m all for form and simplicity….oh, and negative space!

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    It looks like a mobile in the shape of a fish.

    Like

  4. bluebrightly says:

    Transience is a beautiful thing, and this has great lightness to it. No heavy hand here!

    Like

Comments are closed.