Chance Finding

We are still finding new places to visit in Sussex and thereabouts. Each place visited yields a new collection of images.  Some of those images are illustrative of where we have been – images that are of that place. But there are always other images that are found at a place that are not specific to that place. They are, if you like, the chance findings, the unexpected, the results of an Eye that is always looking, thinking laterally, subconsciously saying: ‘Where’s the picture’?

Today’s image was taken at the RSPB Nature Reserve at Pulborough. I’m not really a bird watcher and I didn’t go equipped with binoculars to spot birds. We went because it would get us close to the River Arun and the wetlands that surround its meandering passage to the sea at Littlehampton. There was no real agenda. The wetlands are all but dry anyway – thanks to a very dry winter and spring (so far). But there were a few ditches where water remained, and reeds were poking their way through the quiet water. And this is one of the images I found – semi-abstract, like a few absent-minded brush strokes on a minimalist canvas (once the specks of insects were removed with the healing brush).

As photographers, wherever we go, we will always have a shopping list of potential images. We choose our camera and lens and perhaps a few accessories based on expectations and likely targets. Shoot those headline images, and then expand your vision – you may be surprised how often  your best images are peripheral to your original thinking, or completely outside the box. And that is what I find so exciting about being a photographer.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Chance Finding

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    A photo like this is always on my shopping list.

  2. Heide says:

    “You may be surprised how often your best images are peripheral to your original thinking, or completely outside the box.” So well said, Andy! And a great example to prove it, too.

  3. oneowner says:

    It’s nice to be prepared for any eventuality when out photographing, especially when you’re in an area you may be unfamiliar with. Great shots, like this one, are such a pleasure to find.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken – I know you subscribe to this idea of images being ‘of’ or ‘at’ a place because we’ve discussed it previously. On this occasion it was a new approach to viewing pond reeds – a topic I had previously paid little attention to, but now it gets stored in the memory bank as an idea for visits to similar places.

  4. Sue says:

    “Shoot those headline images, and then expand your vision – you may be surprised how often  your best images are peripheral to your original thinking, or completely outside the box. And that is what I find so exciting about being a photographer.” Well, I couldn’t agree more, Andy! I used to avoid people in my shots, and now I do my ‘One ‘ series, and I used to avoid shadows….now, I keep trying to find them (without success, it might be said!)

  5. paula graham says:

    Indeed…that is what photography is about. Lovely photo too.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Paula. I was pruning the archive last week and realized that I’ve looked for reflections in water for over 45years, but the focus of my attention has repeatedly shifted – and this image marks a new approach to water reflections, or should I say an additional approach to all the existing ones.

  6. bluebrightly says:

    I like this thinking very much – no strong agenda, after all, it’s not a shopping trip to Target…to skew and paraphrase what you said! And I like the image, too. Serendipity is delightful. (And I love the phrase, “chance findings”).

  7. shoreacres says:

    The delicacy of the reeds is what I noticed first. They seem nearly to be suspended in mid-air: an illusion that is both pleasing and intriguing.

  8. Pingback: Chance Finding-2 | LensScaper

  9. Lisa Gordon says:

    I love the sheer simplicity of this.
    Beautifully done.

Comments are closed.