Skylights

IMG_6045Today’s image comes from the Dulwich Picture Gallery in South London. It is the oldest public Art Gallery in England, opened in 1817 and designed by Regency architect Sir John Soane. It pioneered the use of skylights as a means of illuminating the gallery space with natural light. Dulwich Picture Gallery is composed of a series of galleries all illuminated in this way.

The gallery houses an impressive permanent collection as well as hosting regular exhibitions. This image was taken two years ago when I visited the gallery to see a superb display of David Hockney’s prints from the early years of his career including those dating from the time he spent in California.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Skylights

  1. Sue says:

    I’ve been to the Dulwich picture gallery, but never noticed the skylights! And I thought I was observant!

  2. shoreacres says:

    The skylight reminds me of the view from inside a lighthouse. It has the same feel — probably because of the all-around design. But are those shades on the outside? I thought at first it was a cloudy day, but then I saw the texture and decided they might have installed a way to regulate the amount of light coming in.

    And here’s a coincidence. On the very day that you’ve posted a skylight, the Writer’s Almanac published Seamus Heaney’s poem, “The Skylight.”

    You were the one for skylights. I opposed
    Cutting into the seasoned tongue-and-groove
    Of pitch pine. I liked it low and closed,
    Its claustrophobic, nest-up-in-the-roof
    Effect. I liked the snuff-dry feeling,
    The perfect, trunk-lid fit of the old ceiling.
    Under there, it was all hutch and hatch.
    The blue slates kept the heat like midnight thatch.

    But when the slates came off, extravagant
    Sky entered and held surprise wide open.
    For days I felt like an inhabitant
    Of that house where the man sick of the palsy
    Was lowered through the roof, had his sins forgiven,
    Was healed, took up his bed and walked away.

    • LensScaper says:

      The shades are on the inside I am sure, and I assume they are there to prevent direct sunlight hitting the canvases in the body of the Gallery. Life is full of strange coincidences isn’t it. Thanks for the poem, Linda. Very apt.

  3. Len says:

    Photography is all about light and shadow and you have captured both here Andy. The added interest of the patterns takes it up a notch.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Len – you know I love patterns and there are a few of those going on here. It takes B&W to help to bring out the detail in them.

  4. Chillbrook says:

    I love the symmetry in this image Andy. Well spotted!

  5. You always see images where most others won’t not even stop and look. It’s a great photo mostly about graphics, lines and shapes. Well done, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      This huge atrium was where I sat to have a mid-morning coffee and I started to look around, camera in hand. In colour this shot doesn’t have the same impact, but converting to B&W allows the graphics to come to the fore, as you know well. Many thanks Otto.

Comments are closed.