The Glittering Sea #2

ds83962Another day, another visit to look out to Sea – this time from Hove, just westwards from Brighton.

And right on cue, along comes a sailing boat. My spirits lift at the sight. Expect more like this as I chronicle the views out to sea from the South Coast.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in WaterScapes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Glittering Sea #2

  1. Chillbrook says:

    It does indeed seem we are drawn to the horizon Andy! This is wonderful. I really like the horizontally striated tonal gradient in the sky.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Adrian. it’s the difference between sky and sea that makes images like this interesting: the busy speckle and sparkle of the sea contrasting with the hazy softness of the sky. I’m waiting for a contrasty sky one of these days…

      Like

  2. Wonderful picture. Which camera u shot from ?

    Like

  3. oneowner says:

    Very nice shot, Andy. I really like the simple compositions like this.

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    I like the quality of the water in this one somewhat more — probably because I’ve always liked things that sparkle. (When I was a child, playing with my mother’s costume jewelry was a favorite pastime.)

    I especially like the changing color of the water: deeper blue nearby, and finally nearly colorless and bright at the horizon. It’s a lovely shot.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Linda – images like this feel timeless, and the colour is constantly changing. Previously we lived in an area of the country that was reckoned by many to be the furthest from the sea in any direction. It’s so good to be so much closer to it now.

      Like

  5. poppytump says:

    You’ll never lack inspiration being so close to the coast Andy ! Lovely sparkling energy here as the little boat navigates across that expanse of water .

    Like

  6. This is a beauty! You could probably go darker and heighten the drama more. Boy, I’m annoyingly picky, eh? 🙂

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Certainly switched into B&W I’m sure this could take more contrast and moodyness. It’s all about how one remembers the scene and in colour I know this is already darker than the ‘actual’ view although the tonal range you see is largely what Camera Raw dictated when I clocked on ‘Auto’. I will take a look and see – always good to hear opinions, Frank. Many thanks fr your input.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.