Beach Walkers

_ds86373_cropIt’s surprising how much difference a little bit of elevation can make to a scene. This is yet another image from Birling Gap, taken just after ‘Waiting for the Light’ as we were climbing the steps away from the beach.

Images like this are ones over which we have no control. I hesitate to use the word ‘luck’ because luck always implies something very passive, and I prefer to consider images are the result of opportunities that are seen and seized. Images like this evolve as the groups of people change position and the overall dynamic subtly shifts. I saw a potential opportunity and I was fortunate – let’s call it happenstance.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Coast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Beach Walkers

  1. Chillbrook says:

    I love the Lowry type match stalk figures transported from an industrial setting to a very peaceful beach scene. The lighting is superb. The reflections in the sand of the group of four a very nice detail. A lovely photograph combining silent contemplation of the ocean with the movement of the characters with the dog. I like it very much Andy.

  2. oneowner says:

    Very nice image, Andy. I don’t consider myself lucky but sometimes I don’t have any other reason why things turn out the way they do.

  3. paula graham says:

    Brilliant moment, if not planned!

  4. shoreacres says:

    I like the variation among the groups of people — there’s a trio, a quartet, a duet. I can almost hear the ocean-song playing as even the “soloists” respond to it.

    • LensScaper says:

      It was a quiet ocean on that day, and a busy day on the beach (just a few days after Christmas) and people were out for a stroll. It was the organized scatter of people that appealed to me in this shot.

  5. Poppy says:

    Each little figure has a part to play in your composition Andy …a lovely combination of gestures … silhouettes and a calm stillness too .

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Poppy. Yes, it was calm – a beautiful day, by then drawing to a close. Sometimes all the elements seem to align to create harmony out of the clusters of people.

  6. ehpem says:

    I have been trying to take pictures of places crowded with people and it takes a great deal of patience for them to organise into a pleasing arrangement. This image is very pleasing.

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes, this is difficult isn’t it. It either works or it doesn’t. I was fortunate, they just fell into place very quickly.

      • ehpem says:

        Well, there is the Seeing part too – which in your case was not fortunate but well practiced. Seeing and good fortune seem to be necessary companions for this kind of scene.

Comments are closed.