Silver Birches

_DS83873_2Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park in East London is huge. The main Olympic venues are widely separated by acres of open space through which the River Lea flows. There are play areas, cafes, places to sit and there has been extensive landscaping and planting.

Today’s image  was taken in the Park – part of a bank of Silver Birches (Betula Pendula). I added some motion blur during processing to create an impressionistic image._DS83873_1

Enlarging Images within Posts – a problem solved

Regular readers of this blog will know I have mentioned that I’ve been having a problem with image display. For some time images inserted into this blog have not been enlarging to their full intended size when clicked on. Instead a ‘Not Found’ message is displayed. This problem has affected other WordPress blogs and I am surprised that the WordPress forums have been so distinctly unhelpful in solving an issue that has turned out to be a very simple problem with an easy solution. My sincere thanks to Linda Leinen (click here to visit her blog that always provides a fascinating read) who found the solution for me.

All images uploaded for inclusion in posts on my blog have a pixel size that is greater than the blog’s width can accommodate. For standard landscape orientated images I choose a width of 1500 pixels, for vertical portrait type images I opt for a height of 1000pixels. Generally my upload files are about 450-750 KB. When readers click on an image then the full sized image should be displayed. That way the reader can see an image that is of higher quality. Recently that ability has been lost on my Blog.

To solve this problem you must ensure that you have the right settings in ‘Add Media’ for the full sized image to be shown on demand.

When you click on ‘Add Media’ you might select an image that you uploaded previously and is already in the gallery, or perhaps your normal workflow is to upload an image from your home computer at that time. Either way the image chosen is highlighted in a blue frame with a tick at the top Rt corner. To the right of the gallery below a thumbnail of your chosen image you will see ‘Attachment Display Settings’.

This is where the settings are important. ‘Alignment’ determines whether the image is centered or placed to the left or right. You may choose to occasionally use a thumbnail image or a medium sized one, in which case placement within the text might be important. However it’s the following two settings that are the ones to be aware of particularly. The next one is ‘Link To’ – from the drop down box select ‘Media File’. Finally in ‘Size’ you have four options: Thumbnail, Medium, Large and Full Size. This is the crucial box. Full Size is the original size of the image that you uploaded. If you want your image to fill the width of your blog’s text space then make sure you select ‘Large’.

Whether you opt for Thumbnail, Medium or Large for how your image will display within the text of a Post, when a viewer clicks on that image it is always the Full Size version that will be displayed usually in a separate window or tab.

It’s important to remember that the settings you choose at this stage are retained until you choose to amend them at some point in the future. Sadly those settings do not work retrospectively. If you want to amend previous Blogs where image display was not working properly then you will have to work your way through them all. You will need to edit each blog affected, click on the Image and delete it and then go to ‘Add Media’, locate the image to re-insert it and when you click on that image you will find the correct settings are displayed in Attachment Display Settings. So it’s easy to re-set previous Blogs, just boring repetitive work.

All the above applies to WordPress bloggers who are using the old Classic Editor. If you are not using that then you may need to follow the advice that Linda added to her email to me which I am adding below. The link that you will see is genuine and is quite technical. I have not needed to use it, but I’ve included it in case you might need it.

Be Sure you’re working in the old, classic editor. One way to reclaim that ability, if you’ve lost it, is to go to this page. <https://tpenguinltg.github.io/wpcom-edit-post-redirect.user.js/#bookmarks>

Scroll down about 2/3 of the page, until you come to “Explicit Request: Using Bookmarks for each site.”  There’s a link generator there where you can insert your blog’s URL and get links back to the Classic editor and dashboard. I just keep tabs open in my browser for easy clicking, and have the pages bookmarked, too, in case I lose them.”

I hope this is helpful to anyone who has had the same problem as I have. The answer is really so simple – obviously I haven’t been checking the settings when adding an image, but I would say that they are exactly intuitive. Why someone at WordPress has not answered my query is baffling.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Technical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Silver Birches

  1. Chillbrook says:

    Thanks for passing all that on Andy. It’s not an issue that’s affected me but I will certainly know how to fix it if it does. I love these pictures of the birches. Superb!

  2. Thanks for Silver Birches Andy, and thanks also for the heads up re image sizes – I had been wondering why I couldn’t get a larger image when I clicked.

  3. It’s going to be good seeing your photos large again, Andy. And your fine photograph of these silver birches are a nice way to get back into the larger view.

  4. oneowner says:

    Very helpful. Thanks, Andy.

  5. Sue says:

    Most helpful info, Andy! As for the images, loved them…and you say you did the motion blur in post processing?

  6. shoreacres says:

    Those birches are beautiful. I can’t remember ever seeing silver birches. I believe the ones in our yard when I was growing up were paper birches, but regardless of species, I always enjoy them.

    The motion blur is interesting, but I seem to be going through a natural-is-better phase, so I do prefer the first image. I suspect if I’d seen only the second, in isolation, my response would have been different.

    • LensScaper says:

      I think Birches must be close relatives of Aspens. We don’t have Aspens over here. I think my love of blurred lines comes because I enjoy ‘lines’, and the results are never really intended as natural history but as abstracts.
      Thank you again for your help in solving the image display problems – there seem to be quite a few others affected.

  7. I love both these photos. They are abstractions each in their own rights. Thanks also for the heads up on the posting of photos on WordPress. I actually wasn’t even aware of the problem as I use the Classic Editor. But good to know if I ever were to consider changing.

  8. ehpem says:

    Good information Andy, I have been noticing the image sizing issue too, though intermittently. I have not tested it, but I think it might be related to which post I copy as the foundation for my next one. And, I have been using a redirect scripts now for a while to get me automatically back to the older more capable editor and they work very well on both Chrome and Firefox.

    I get the impression that WP is not very interested in image related issues. The big one for me is related to reblogging. In most circumstances I dislike reblogging as it facilitates copyright infringement. However, I am posting about once a week at 52Rolls.net and then reblogging those posts of mine on my own blog. Those posts are about rolls of film shot that week and have lots of images. When I reblog them, WP brings over into my own media library ALL the images from the other post, and some of them twice if they are in the main body of the text and a gallery, and the featured image three times if it is in a gallery. However, the reblogged post only shows the first image and makes use of the featured image.
    The happiness engineer at first claimed it must be a bug (because it is so obviously the wrong thing to do), and then found out it was intended so rebloggers could insert the gallery in their reblogged post and they decided they would do nothing about it. My problem with this is that it puts the images into another person’s media library where they can be edited, and effectively makes those images their own to blog with etc – I think it is a flagrant abuse of my copyright.
    It is also annoying because I am near my free space limit and am carefully managing the number of photos and size of images I use, and slowly working back through old posts to reduce size. At the same time I contribute to the costs of storage at 52Rolls.net. So effectively I am paying for those images to be stored twice, even though they are not used on my blog. After reblogging I have to go into my media library and delete each superfluous image one at a time. It irritates me each time I have to do this, especially because WP is unwilling to do anything about it.

  9. Pingback: An unsecured location | One Day | One Image

Comments are closed.