Twenty Versions

Those of you who know of my liking for reflective glass will understand that it was impossible for me to walk past this building without taking a picture or two.

IMG_7919It’s the rather uninteresting façade of a hotel on the Euston Road, London – a road that is a regular source of images for me. The light wasn’t brilliant on this particular day but that didn’t stop the windows putting on a great show. A combination of curtains and distorted views of the building opposite.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Twenty Versions

  1. Chillbrook says:

    I love the colours you’ve captured here Andy. Each window seems to display an individual piece of art. Fascinating.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. It never ceases to amaze me how so many panes of glass supposedly precisely fitted can produce such varied reflections, although it has to be said that a lot of what is seen is, in part, the state of the curtains within the rooms.

      Like

  2. oneowner says:

    Very well done, Andy. Each window is unique, each one would have been a nice photo but it’s so much better grouped together like this.

    Like

  3. Len says:

    Another in a series of great patterns while walking the streets Andy.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      I keep seeing them every time I head down to London. And just about everywhere building that arrives is sheathed in glass, so there is know shortage of subject matter.

      Like

  4. Sue says:

    Marvellous set of patterns, Andy – I can quite see why you had to take this!

    Like

  5. Wow! You couldn’t have planned it any better.

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    I can’t remember where I was this past weekend — not in any urban center, that’s for sure! — but I saw a building with reflective windows and thought of you.

    I’m particularly taken with the middle window in the top row. It’s so different from the others. Maybe I’m just sensitized to anything that looks like an eye these days. 🙂

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Ha – you spotted the one window pane that actually reflects something with a degree of accuracy – the letter ‘O’ in the word Unison. The building immediately opposite is the HQ of one of the biggest trade unions in the UK named Unison.

      Like

  7. Just my sort of thing, Andy – a rather drab building made fascinating by reflection, symmetry and a glimpse into the lives of those inside.

    Like

Comments are closed.