On Guard

We’re looking after Bert, our daughter’s dog, for the weekend. He’s now in charge! We are followed everywhere, monitored and watched over. And this is his preferred look-out point. Watching the world go by intently.

_DS83336

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Guard

  1. Chillbrook says:

    Bert clearly takes his job very seriously indeed Andy! He’s a lovely dog and this is a superb portrait of him!

  2. poppytump says:

    I hope he has taken a break by now Andy 🙂
    Lovely photo of Bert !

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes, he’s decided this is a safe environment and has lowered his guard – even coped with a night of extraordinary lightning flashes although thankfully the thunder was surprisingly mild. Glad you liked the pic, Poppy – he’s a handsome dog.

  3. shoreacres says:

    Handsome is exactly the word that crossed my mind. For many reasons, I prefer a cat for a pet, but I admire dogs greatly, and he looks like a good one: alert and intelligent. Is he a particular breed, or mixed?

    • LensScaper says:

      He’s certainly alert, intelligent and with a good temperament, Linda. He’s an Entlebucher, one of the rare breeds of Swiss Mountain Dogs employed to herd cattle – there are only about fifty of them in the UK. There is an American Enlebucher kennel club if you are interested. He’s now just turned three years old and belongs to our daughter who, like my wife and I, loves all things Swiss.

Comments are closed.