St Paul’s

_DS81948Although it is always refreshing to find something new to say about a classic building (click here to view a recent unusual image of St Paul’s), the classic images still remain irresistible, particularly when the light decides tp play ball.

People were queuing up to shoot this iconic view. Once I was in position I wasn’t in a hurry to leave and the light came good. Two men strode into view just at the right moment too.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to St Paul’s

  1. Annie says:

    I’m currently living in London have you tried going to the top of the one new change building its near St. Paul’s. It isn’t the most iconic shot but you’ll be amazing at how closely you see the detail. It’s truly amazing!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi Annie – thanks for commenting. No I haven’t been to the top of that building, but I’ve been into the lower levels and seen the possibilities. And the image of St Paul’s that I referred to in this blog entry was a double reflection of the Cathedral in the facade of One New Change

      Like

  2. oneowner says:

    Looks like the perfect day to shoot St Paul’s. A little overcast but the clouds are just as interesting.

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    Clearly, London has changed since I last was there. When I think back to my visits to St. Paul’s the approaches I remember aren’t anything like this. What are the white structures on either side of the main walkway, that look like cut-paper projects? They’re really quite interesting.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. The Millenium Bridge was designed to celebrate the Millenium. It was the first new bridge over the Thames in many years and provides a direct link from Tate Modern on Southbank and St Paul’s north of the Thames. Visually it is a striking link. When it was first opened and masses of people walked over it, it was found to wobble – hence it’s nickname as the Wobbly Bridge. It required remedial work to get rid of the wobble. The white structures are part of the structure of the bridge. You can read more about it on Wikipedia, here’s the link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Millennium_Bridge,_London and that article also includes a very good overhead shot.

      Like

  4. Chillbrook says:

    Another stunner Andy! Well done for holding your position and waiting for the light, not an easy thing to do I’d imagine when others are waiting to take the same shot..! 🙂

    Like

  5. Jim Nix says:

    nicely done Andy – I do love that town!

    Like

Comments are closed.