Water Lily and Leaves

Water Lily leaves and their flowers are a common feature of ponds and lakes in the UK. The leaves may be green, but sometimes they are purplish-red. The water may be brown, as in this image. But sometimes it is clear, revealing the stems deep in the water; and on other occasions the water reflects the sky. In short, no two findings are ever the same. And that is what I find so appealing.

The plants create their own compositions, and I now have a growing number of images collected over the years of these adornments of still water. This example comes from Hever Castle on our most recent visit. You will find other images here and here and here.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Country Houses & Gardens, Garden Plants and Wild Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Water Lily and Leaves

  1. paula graham says:

    How delightful and idyllic and a wonderful colour combination

  2. shoreacres says:

    I was about to comment on the color, when I took another look at the image and suddenly thought: “Pacman!” That brought to mind this photoshopped image from years ago. Now I can’t help seeing your lily pads gobbling up one another as in the game: what strange things our brains are.

    But back to the color. I’ve seen the same combination here, and it really is pleasing. I heard an interesting presentation last week from a woman in charge of the development of stormwater wetlands here, and she mentioned that the water lilies are the first plantings in a new development, precisely because they do root so deeply.

    Your enjoyment of ever-changing scenes — “no two findings are ever the same” — clearly links your appreciation of water lilies and urban building reflections. Funny, how we can find the same dynamic in such different environments.

    • LensScaper says:

      I always learn something new from your comments, Linda (ref: stormwater wetlands). And a new association….to Pacman!
      One of the fascinations, and rewards, of having threads to my photographic journey is that that exploration never seems to be close to exhausting possibilities.

  3. bluebrightly says:

    They’re so photogenic. I like all the warm color, and the circular grouping.

Comments are closed.