High Heels

A pair of High Heels for the end of the week. Red seemed the right colour to add to the soaring background of this shot.

This is taken at St Pancras International Station, London from where Eurostar train services leave for Europe. And these heels are just a tiny fraction of a 9 metre high bronze sculpture titled ‘Meeting Place’ by the British Sculptor Paul Day. The sculpture is of a couple locked in an embrace and is colloquially called ‘The Lovers’ for that reason. Click here to see an image of the sculpture.

It’s a difficult sculpture to capture in its entirety because of its height. But when I looked at this famous work of art, it was the heels that suggested what you don’t see, with the famous St Pancras roof as the backdrop. There’s something about a pair of High Heels…

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure, Derivative, London and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to High Heels

  1. I know the sculpture and the station. I’ve not seen a shot of just the high heels before. Great shot. Cheers.

    Like

  2. rigmover says:

    Great shot, looks great against the red roof.

    Like

  3. Very nice. I like how you’ve isolated just that part of the sculpture… good idea.

    Like

  4. theaterwiz says:

    Very cool, I like the background

    Like

  5. Phillip says:

    Great shot Andy. Love the red roof background!

    Like

  6. seekraz says:

    Yes, there is something provocative about high-heels, somehow…. I love the red, receeding lines of the roof…very nice, Andy.

    Like

  7. munchow says:

    It’s a really fun shot. Before I read the text, I actually thought you had shot some “real” high heals. Just shows how natural the frame looks – and that is what I love about it. A busy lady on her way to a departing Eurostar.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much, Otto. If you ever come to London do visit this station and King’s Cross (the station next door) that has also been renovated. Well worth seeing.

      Like

  8. leadinlines says:

    I love the contrast between the shadow and that magnificent roof. Nicely captured Andy.

    Like

  9. I did’n wear that kind of high heels this weekend, but I really liked yours. Great photo!

    Like

  10. myallegro31 says:

    This is a really unique, special shot. Very creative POV. Nice work.

    Like

  11. Jim Nix says:

    great idea here Andy, well done!!

    Like

  12. That’s an excellent abstraction, so different from a view of the sculpture as a whole. Goes to show what getting in close to your subject can do.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much for your comment, Steve. This is such a tall sculpture it’s virtually impossible to get a good view. I felt this close-in shot of the Heels together with the red tone hinted at something going on higher up!

      Like

Comments are closed.