The Carousel

Every year in the build-up to Christmas, our local shopping centre (Milton Keynes) has a great Christmas Showpiece in the central hall of its covered Mall – Xmas Tree, Santa, railway (all of 50yards or so), Grotto, sometimes a few craft stalls and always a wonderful old traditional Funfair Carousel.  The atmosphere is improved by blacking out most of the glass so the whole area has an ‘after-dark’ feel to it. The kids love it.

Carousel (1) - click to enlarge

I’ve never shot images of it before, but last week I suddenly realized what an opportunity there was here to shoot the Carousel in motion. I can’t remember the last time I attempted anything like this.  Anyway, thanks to a solid upright or two (no tripod) to steady the camera I got some shots I was quite pleased with.

Carousel (2) - click to enlarge

Carousel (3) - click to enlarge

I feel I may have over-sharpened the first one. The process has, I think, tamed and reduced the blur in the highlights a little over-much.  But it provides a slightly different interpretation to the last two that are left more as they were shot. Hope you like them.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Long Exposure, Milton Keynes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Carousel

  1. Len Saltiel says:

    Great job with this Andy. I have not shot this type of image but now need to find the nearest one to shoot and hope to do half as good as you. Love the first one and, no, I don’t think it is over-sharpened.

    Like

  2. Dave DiCello says:

    Andy this is great! I just got to shoot a carousel for the first time this summer and I really enjoyed it! Will probably go back next year. Well executed here man!

    Like

  3. Nahhh… I don’t think the first one is over-sharpened. It looks nice. In fact, it has a bit more punch and sizzle that seems missing from the other two, although they’re also great shots.

    I missed my own chance recently at the County Ag fair. I really wanted to, but… I’ll claim a cotton-candy allergy.

    Like

  4. Jim Nix says:

    very cool Andy, nicely done! thanks much for the visit to my blog as well, I appreciate that!

    Like

  5. Curt Fleenor says:

    Wonderful shots Andy , live the motion in these!

    Like

  6. Rick Louie says:

    Nice! Always wanted to capture a carousel in motion!

    Like

  7. ken bello says:

    Nice work, Andy. Very creative. I do like the sharpening on the first photo as well.

    Like

  8. Jimi Jones says:

    Excellent work, Andy! I think the first shot, as well as the others are fine. Each has it’s own character and are really well done. Cool images!

    Like

  9. I think the first shot is awesome. Great flow to them all.

    Like

  10. What a cool series! I think the first one is my favourite, but they all do a great job of conveying the motion. Nice lights!

    Like

  11. Fantastic shots Andy. I like the first one I don’t think its over sharpened. Really well done. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

    Like

  12. poppytump says:

    Whooo I feel dizzy 🙂
    Lovely whirring movement ! I wouldn’t mind having a go at something like this sometime Andy would be fun .

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      I see you’ve been having a rummage in the archives, Poppy! Glad you like this. I don’t often take images like this, and this one surprised me when I saw the results. Simply used a convenient pillar for anchoring the Canon G10 and hoped for the best. Just proves you don’t need a dSLR or a tripod always.

      Like

Comments are closed.