Lights and Back-Lights

The worst part about international air travel is the hanging-around-the-airport time that seems to last for hours and hours.  I’ve discovered that the best thing to do is park my wife and the hand luggage once we have found somewhere to sit (and that’s not always an easy task) and then wander off with the camera and see what I can find to shoot.  Considering all the security issues there are about flying I am surprised that so far (despite many such wanders-off) I haven’t been accosted and taken away to be interrogated or had my camera confiscated.

Lights and Back-Lights - click to enlarge

Today’s image comes from Vancouver Airport where we were waiting for the return flight to the UK after a great ski trip to Whistler. We had a bite to eat and were waiting in a huge cavernous building. There were hanging lights with colourful shades over the eatery, and across the void sizeable back-lit advertising posters. Together they created an interesting trio of coloured elements. The final image (above) has just had my normal processing and a slight re-arrangement of the elements to create what I felt was a better composition.

Thumbnail of original

A thumbnail of the original file is at left for comparison.

First, I didn’t like the way the bottom left element bled off the page, so I extended the canvas to create a black border to the side of that.

Second, I wanted a better balance between the back-lit out of focus posters and the hanging light-shades, so I shifted the lights up and left. I added a small amount of Poster Edge Filter and blended that back down to create a little extra sharpness and ‘edge’.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Derivative, Eclectica, En Route and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lights and Back-Lights

  1. Jan Winther says:

    Very cool shot. Thanks for including the before shot.

  2. ken bello says:

    Your final composition is a vast improvement on the original. It has a better balance and tension. It’s an interesting process to analyze an image and figure out ways to correct placement of the elements in the photo. Your technical expertise has served you well.

  3. Rick Louie says:

    Nice post processing! I’ve been to the Vancouver Airport many times, but I’m always rushing through there due to customs and never really have time to check it out. I’ll have to do that next time.

  4. munchow says:

    It’s a great abstract shot. Of course your text explains what it is I see, but I still love to let my mind take its own turn. The is something very psychedelic about the shot also as tableau from the late 60’s. Both shifting the lights and extending the canvas to the left really lifted the image. Fun to see what you did. So thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.