Hello

My wife and I went out for lunch in our local city centre earlier this week, to be followed by shopping. After lunch my wife went off to shop and I went to find some images.

The city centre is one of my regular haunts for images but it felt to me on this occasion that I had exhausted the possibilities until I just relaxed and watched the people milling around the shopping arcades. And the images started to come to me. By one of those bizarre circumstances Otto von Munchow posted Let Images Reveal Themselves on his blog ‘In Flow’ earlier this week but I hadn’t had a chance to read it when I shot today’s image, but his message is so relevant to my experience on this day. Do read Otto’s entry (click the link above), and if you are interested in reading and learning about the Creative side of Photography then Otto’s blog is an excellent place to start.

I found this patch of wall that you see below – a clever graphic – announcing the arrival of a shop called ‘Hello’ in the near future. I shot the graphic and then thought: I need a figure in this image. And out of the corner of my eye at that moment I saw a lady in a red coat approaching. It was the precise colour I needed. Instinctively I caught her. I had just that one chance – no time to check the settings or change them. She’s there, one leg sharp, the rest slightly blurred. Pity about the blur, but I’m trying to persuade myself that the blur is somehow apt.

IMG_6876_1You have to take your chances when they present themselves to you. Over on iSighting today I’ve posted an entry ‘Taking Chancesexpanding on this idea with three other images from the same shoot. If you have the time, do take a look at that post. Click the link to iSighting, or click on the top entry in the Rt sidebar on this blog.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Hello

  1. Chillbrook says:

    I read Otto’s post a few days ago and it really does make sense. It seems when you’re frantically looking for something or trying to make something happen, it simply doesn’t. It’s good advice to just sit back and absorb your surroundings, chill out a little, and it clearly worked for you here Andy!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. Otto’s blog is one of the best I read on a regular basis. I always learn something new. I think we can try too hard as you say, and I think that problem is at its worst when we have an idea for an image very clearly defined in our mind. When that doesn’t work it can be quite a struggle to disengage and get our mind and eye working in a totally different direction.

      Like

  2. oneowner says:

    I’m not at all bothered by the blur. Great shot.

    Like

  3. I don’t mind the blur either Andy. Fantastic capture and an interesting post 🙂

    Like

  4. I don’t mind the blur in this case either. Great catch.

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    Actually, I think the contrast between the “sharp leg” and the blurred figure is wholly appropriate. When we first say “Hello” to a new person, only a feature or two is “in focus” for us. We talk occupations, or similar hobbies, or mutual admiration of the flower we’re looking at in a garden. If the relationship endures through time, more and more about the person comes into focus, and we see them without the blurriness that unfamiliarity usually brings.

    Like

  6. The blur is fine with me, too, Andy. Think you got the decisive moment there. Congratulations.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Luck was with me on that occasion. To spot that, shoot the graphic, and find a person in red walking by all in the space of a few seconds was quite remarkable. Thanks Linda.

      Like

  7. John Linn says:

    I agree with the others… the blur adds to the image, does not detract.
    I really like the composition behind the red coat too… very creative sign to announce the new business.

    Like

  8. Did you consider asking the woman to walk back by so you could have your camera set the way you wanted it?

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for commenting Steve. When I checked the screen on the back of the camera I thought I had a sharp image; back home I realized that wasn’t correct. But I am increasingly aware that I really need to have my reading glasses readily available to check for sharpness at capture, but that is not easy to put into practice.

      Like

  9. Earl Moore says:

    Love this image, Andy. I’m with the majority on the blur…adds to the image. Thanks for passing the Otto von Munchow link on…I missed it but will now read it.

    Like

  10. Meanderer says:

    Super capture, Andy. Well done!

    Like

  11. A very bold image, Andy. And mentioned by WordPress! Very good indeed.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Mike for the comment and for the info. I was wondering why the stats had gone through the roof, and thanks to your prompt I realized why when I checked back through the reader.

      Like

  12. bananabatman says:

    It’s a great image and the motion blur enhances it. Well caught.

    Like

Comments are closed.