Boarded Up

I spotted this boarded up window in a back alley in Zermatt. What a fantastic pattern.

IMG_5850_wp

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Boarded Up

  1. oneowner says:

    If you look at it long enough you can see the repeat in the dot pattern. Nice!

    Like

  2. vastlycurious.com says:

    It looks like a work of art!

    Like

  3. Tim Brindley says:

    It’s an attractive pattern, which looks something like a contour map, and it exposes both the life history of the tree and the technology used to process it. I’m not an expert, but I’m pretty sure we’re looking at a constructional plywood made from rotary-cut veneer, where a log is rolled against a wide blade which peels off a continuous thin veneer until there’s no log left. The pattern repeat is very short, suggesting this section came from near the centre of the log, and using a ruler you can see how the pattern repeat gets shorter from left to right, as each rotary cut has reduced the circumference of the log.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Mandy comments for your comment, Tim. I’m sure this is plywood, and your explanation of the ‘repeat’ is something I’ve not heard of before, but certainly makes sense.

      Like

  4. Len says:

    Great find Andy. Those are super patterns.

    Like

Comments are closed.