Geneva Airport Re-Visited

Geneva Airport is a photo opportunity. If you arrive here by train on your way to catch a flight, you ride up the escalator from the platform, walk through the shopping mall, across an access road and into the airport terminal to the check-in desks. Photo Opportunity? How is that possible?

All images in this post will enlarge. click an image to see a higher quality enlargement.

IMG_5676Take your time. As you ride the escalator, look up. Above you, the ceiling of the shopping mall is reflective and you will see the first opportunity for an image. Upstairs in the shopping mall, the reflective ceiling stretches before you.

Most people are in too much of a hurry, either late for a train, or hurrying to the check-in desks, to bother to look up. And for most people the words ‘Airport’ and ‘Enjoyment’ really don’t belong in the same sentence.

Photographic opportunities provide the enjoyment; they lighten the boredom of waiting, waiting and more waiting.

I’ve lost count of the number of times we have returned to Geneva Airport by train for the flight back home to the UK at the end of a holiday. Travel to/from a resort is always associated with anxiety of one sort or another. Will the train be on-time, will we make the connection, will the flight be delayed? We always allow extra time these days.

Bar-coded seating

Bar-coded seating

And that extra time allows a few minutes for me to park my wife at the top of the escalator or at the Pret A Manger cafe and walk down the mall and see what I can find to shoot.

IMG_5905_wpI’ve made that five-minute walk numerous times and each time I find something new.

IMG_5906_wpIt lightens my mood and that makes the waiting that follows easier to bear.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in En Route and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Geneva Airport Re-Visited

  1. oneowner says:

    Airport terminal architecture is usually very interesting and this one is no exception. Nice shots, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. They’re all different. I recall Vancouver airport particularly – it was the first airport that inspired me to take pictures in such an unlikely place (as I thought at that time)

  2. Len says:

    Terrific images Andy. It always amazes me how some airports shine while others are so blah. Nicely done.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. Geneva Airport has changed dramatically over the last few years. It used to be a place I dreaded going through. So different and better now.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    I love the way you find a photograph whatever the situation Andy. It’s a good lesson for me. Carry the camera and keep your eyes open! 🙂

  4. Jimi Jones says:

    Great way to pass the wait time and create some lovely images, Andy. With all of the reflective surfaces about, possibilities are everywhere. Well done.

  5. janina says:

    So, Andy, does your wife mind being ‘parked’? I thought you were going to tell us you were then going to take pictures of her! 😉
    Yes, reflections are always an interesting subject, or so I find. Do you ever get so lost in the moment in your airport photo-op. searches that you miss the plane?
    Wonderful images, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for commenting Janina. No – my wife is quite happy to be ‘parked’, although she gets a bit disconcerted if I am away longer than I said I would be! It’s easy to lose track of time, but I always make sure I catch the flight.

Comments are closed.