From the Kirkstone Pass

Normally when I take images in the mountains I know exactly what I am looking at. But I have to confess that as far as today’s images are concerned, I’m not sure what these peaks are. That’s the problem with an archive that could be better organized. And so if any UK photographers can help out with the identification, I’ll be very pleased to hear from you! What appealed to me at the time, and still does, is the warm late afternoon light in these images on a calm Autumn day.

DSC03178_wp

The facts that I recall are that they were taken from the Kirkstone Pass in the Lake District on the way over into Patterdale, in the afternoon, six Autumns ago. They were shot in the order shown here and about 11mins apart – we must have stopped at least twice on our journey over the pass. I am pretty certain the peaks in the first image were on the south side of the pass, and I also think the lake in the second image is Brothers Water.

DSC03179_wp

Winter months bring out the Hibernator in me and it’s a time for tackling indoor tasks. I’ve been getting to grips with CS5 and OnOne Perfect Photo Suite 6 recently (I realize I’m rather behind the times with both those programs). I’ve also being trawling back through the Archives, which is how I re-visited these images.

So, suggestions please from anyone who may know this area of the Lake District better than I do.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, MountainScape and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to From the Kirkstone Pass

  1. ellyhuizinga says:

    Wonderful pictures, they bring me back to Scotland, the same feelings , the same light ! Thanks

    Like

  2. athyfoto says:

    In the second picture I think straight ahead of you are Water Angletarn Pikes with Brock Crags coming in from the right.

    Like

  3. rigmover says:

    Well I don’t know what they are, but they sure look nice, well done Andy.

    Like

  4. oneowner says:

    Great shots! Some newer cameras record gps coordinates in the meta data now. It’s a great feature for photographers that do a lot of traveling.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. Yes, I’m aware of that facility, I wonder if anyone has also thought of the idea of combining GPS co-ordinates with a compass bearing for the direction of the shot

      Like

  5. I don’t know the location but the images are lovely.

    Like

  6. I was village bobby in Patterdale for three years, so these should be a doddle Andy, but memory does dim a little after 25 years so I opened Memory Map and projected the views from the locations I think you must have used.

    Image 1 looks like Froswick (left) and Ill Bell (right) – I thought the peak on the right might have been Yoke, but checking the contours on the map I think it is Ill Bell – the northern slopes of Yoke are not quite as steep.

    Image 2 has the unmistakable Brothers Water in the middle ground. I immediately identified the large mass behind as Place Fell, but in deference to Athyfoto I checked the angles on Memory Map – it has to be Place Fell, which dominates the approach from the south. Angle Tarn Pikes is on the right, but Brock Crags (561m) is hidden behind Hartsop Dodd (618m)

    After a day out today wandering round Tal y Fan in the Northern Carneddau, it was strange to be transported 100 miles and 25 years to Kirkstone, but good fun trying to work it all out – thanks Andy.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Paul for your work on this, much appreciated. I had vague recollections that you have lived in that area. I have boxes of slides taken way back in the 60s and 70s of walking in Snowdonia and The Lakes – all without titles. A reminder perhaps that we should perhaps append details to our work at the time. Images without identity lose their meaning. I might have to call on your assistance again some time!

      Like

  7. smackedpentax says:

    Stunning photos…you have captured the essence of the Lakes in these…beautiful!

    Like

  8. Len Saltiel says:

    Simply beautiful images Andy, especially the second one. I sometimes forget to document mountain names too and have a difficult time trying to place them.

    Like

  9. ehpem says:

    These are very nice photographs. But I must say I am enjoying your blogging community even more right now – how wonderful to be able to ask a question like this, and get a precise convincing answer. I have used tools like google earth to help when I know roughly where to starting looking. Sometimes its oblique view feature can be illuminating, though I find I often have to adjust the vertical exaggeration a bit for some reason (probably entirely in my mind).

    Like

  10. theaterwiz says:

    Stunning scenery!

    Like

Comments are closed.