Weather Vane

We made one of our occasional visits to Bicester Village mid-week – a luxury outlet shopping village about a half-hour drive from home. Before I go any further I’m relieved to report that my wife was not on a mission to empty the bank account through expensive purchases in Gucci, Prada, Burberry, Jaeger, Dior etc. No, we were simply after an ironing board cover (price £16 in Cath Kidston). We were probably the couple who spent the least that entire day. Thankfully Bicester Village does not include outlets such as Nikon, Sigma, Gitzo, otherwise the account might have taken a bigger hit.

Each time I chauffeur my wife there, I go determined to find something new to photograph and on this occasion I came away with at least four usable images. Eyes up to the roof line for today’s image – an attractively worked roof line actually – where above weather-boarded walls I spotted a Weathervane (weathercock).

IMG_3879 _wp

This being winter I am spending more time working indoors and some of that time is spent working harder on images to release the potential that my creative spirit has spotted. This was a fairly ordinary original but I think it has responded quite well to the workout it was put through in CS5 and OnOne’s Perfect Effects. It certainly helped to have an interesting sky with cloud well placed to allow the Weathervane to stand proud.

Your opinion is always welcome, so do make a comment if you like it, or click the ‘Like’ button.

Before I forget, I am now on Instagram (@andyhooker) for any Instagram-ers wishing to follow me. There’s even a shot taken inside Cath Kidston from this trip, but not of an ironing board cover!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Eclectica and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weather Vane

  1. oneowner says:

    This photo is more than meets the eye at first glance. Great lines, wonderful texture and nice tonality throughout, especially in the sky.
    I’m always hoping that they open a Nikon Factory Outlet store near us but I think I could drain our savings account pretty fast if they did.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks you very much for those comments. I spent quite some time working on this, and I think it paid off. It might surprise you to know that Solarization lies at the heart of this final result – it’s that ‘process’ that has worked so well on the sky

  2. Wonderful composition Andy. It pays to look up.

  3. I’ve went to Bicester Village a few years ago to visit the Bose outlet shop. It’s a very odd sort of place and designed purely to empty purses with nonsense designer goods. Not the sort of shopping centre I would normally visit and the whole place felt very artificial. How you managed to get such a great shot at such a horrid place is fantastic. Nice processing too. I guess the real downside now is that you’ve now got no excuse not to iron your shirts… 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much. The Bose shop is long since gone! So are most of the English. I like a challenge and the fun when visiting a place like this is being determined not to go away empty handed (photographically speaking). It certainly helps sharpen the mind. And..I won’t be trusted with the new ironing board cover, so no chance of ironing shirts! Phew!

  4. Len Saltiel says:

    You are a better man than I am Andy. I try to come up with an excuse to never go shopping (I shop on Amazon). Nice images.

  5. rigmover says:

    Nice capture Andy.

  6. seekraz says:

    Striking image, Andy…I like that bit of dark cloud curling in from the left of the image, speaks to the utility of the weather vane….

  7. Wonderful image, Andy. I like the framing on this. Nice processing as well.

  8. I like the way you’ve framed this, and the strong geometric shapes you’ve created to surround the weather vane.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment. The roof lines are strong and varied at this shopping centre, I thought they provided an interesting counterpoint to the Weather vane

  9. Nice lines, compostition, and the clouds makes the photo very dynamic.

Comments are closed.