An Entlebucher came for Christmas

Christmas is long since gone, the decorations have been put away and the last slice of Christmas cake has been eaten. But the memories continue aided by the photos taken. Like almost every year, the family came home: son, daughter plus her partner and, for the first time, her dog Bertie. Those of you who follow this blog may recall two posts in the summer about Bertie the Entlebucher.

This is me, lookig my best

This is me, lookig my best

The Entlebucher is a rare breed dog, the smallest of the Swiss mountain dogs. Bertie is now almost 9 months old (in human terms a teenager), nearly fully grown and bursting with energy. In size he’s about as long as a Labrador but with slightly shorter legs and very powerfully built. For information on the Entlebucher breed click here. Or click here or here to see the two earlier posts about Bertie. He’s a full-time occupation requiring loads of exercise. Thankfully he is now through the phase where the world around him is explored via his teeth: rugs, furniture, books, bedding, architraves and walls. He’s chewed them all. To him we are also a full-time occupation as he constantly checks our whereabouts in case we go missing without him.

Here’s his story of Christmas:

Uh Oh! A pile of cases and bags was growing near the door. All my belongings were there too. Something was going to happen. I was worried. Soon everything was taken out of my house and I was put in the back of the Man Human’s new car. Usually I have the back seat all to myself, but this time I was put right at the back behind the back seats. The journey seemed to last forever and half way through I found a way to unclip the net and I squeezed through to the back seat. I got shouted at: ‘No Bertie’. I only wanted to sit nearer them.

Finally the car stopped and the two young Humans very carefully opened the car. I wanted to rush out and explore but I was put on my lead straightaway. I was in a hurry to see where I was. Uh Oh! It was that big house that I’ve been to before where the two old Humans live, who worry a lot. Last time I was there I got into a lot of trouble because I ate the Television cable. It’s got far too many rooms too, I’ve counted to ten and there are still a few more spaces after that and it’s got a big staircase. The other young Man Human was there already so that made five Humans to look after and keep a check on. I was going to be very busy.

This is my bed. Not much is it!

This is my bed. Not much is it!

I don’t have a bed now. That’s because I’ve eaten all the other ones, so now all I have is a piece of carpet to lie on, and there is a metal gate that keeps me shut into the kitchen. I don’t mind that overnight, actually I’m very good overnight, but during the day I get very cross when I’m shut in the kitchen.

I wish to complain about this

I wish to complain about this

Usually I’m not shut in and that’s when the problems start, because all the Humans disappear into different places and I spend all the time running round the house checking they aren’t lost and because I need to know where they all are. Even when they are all in the same place, and I try to go to sleep, someone moves and then I have to be instantly on guard in case they wander off and get lost

They spent a lot of time in the kitchen making food. I could smell it all: lots and lots of new and different smells. I stayed very quiet expecting a really nice meal so I was not very happy when I got the same food as always. When they all sat down to eat, I could get very close to the food but I still didn’t get any of it. That wasn’t very fair, because I really was behaving very well.

Any chance of a bit of that for lunch?

Any chance of a bit of that for lunch?

In the afternoons we played ball. One of the Man Humans told me to ‘Sit ‘ and then ‘Down’ (which means I had to lie down, and the grass was always wet), then he threw the ball and shouted ‘Fetch’. I always start running before he says the word Fetch. I can start running faster than Usain Bolt and I think I’m the fastest dog ever over 100M. Then I bring the ball back to the Human and drop it (I’m getting very good at doing that), and then we start all over again, and again, and again.

Running faster than Usain Bolt

Running faster than Usain Bolt

In the evenings everyone sat down in one of the big rooms, usually there was no space for me on a chair but sometimes there was and if I behaved myself I was allowed to sit on a nice soft chair. The only one I was not supposed to sit on was the long one in another room. If I did that the Old Human flashed his camera at me and then shouted ‘Off’. He can get quite cross if I do the wrong thing.

This might be the wrong place to sit

This might be the wrong place to sit

I used to have lots of soft toys but I’ve killed them all. My fastest time for killing a soft toy is less than five minutes, and a plastic one only lasts about an hour, so now I have to make do with bits of something called ‘Antler’. I enjoy antlers, I can chew at one of them for hours and they never really seem to get much smaller.

You are not having this Antler

You are not having this Antler

For a few days I got left with the two old Humans and all the young Humans went away somewhere. It was much easier looking after only the two old ones. In the middle of the morning I tried to read the newspaper with them because I’m tall enough to get my paws on the breakfast bar  but the old Man Human shouts ‘Off’ again. But he took me for some long walks and I’m now getting very good at having my paws dried because every time I went for a walk I got very wet.

Any chance of a walk soon?

Any chance of a walk soon?

Actually I was sorry to leave that big house and go back to my young Human’s small one that has only three rooms. I hope it won’t be too long before I can go and see the old Humans in their big house again.

Here are a lot of pictures of me. You can see how fast I can run in one of them because the old Human’s camera couldn’t really keep up with me.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Animals and Wild Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to An Entlebucher came for Christmas

  1. Haha … Great post Andy, with a subject that can’t fail to engage most readers! ‘Bertie’ appears to be quite cooperative as far as photography is concerned – my ‘Mist’ has a talent for moving out of a frame just as the shutter is released!

    Great images (no surprise there!) but a nice story line as well.

  2. rigmover says:

    I’m surprised he wanted to leave. Great post Andy.

  3. What a great post and images Andy. Bertie’s gotten so big and what a sweetheart. How can you get mad at a face like that 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Edith. I thought somehow you might enjoy this post as a dog-lover! He has grown hugely over the last few months. Hopefully he’s near his max size and weight now.

  4. Len says:

    Terrific images Andy. Looks like both you and Bertie had a great time together.

  5. oneowner says:

    That’s one good looking (and chatty) dog!!!

  6. Sounds like Bertie had a good Christmas – even if he didn’t get any special food!

  7. Nice to meet Bertie! Oh what a time to have a dog in that age. Be sure, caples is not good for his health. 😉 Know I know about a new kind of dog, mountain dog, that is great!

  8. munchow says:

    A very touching story with great pictures of Bertie. Happy New Year, Andy!

  9. I’ve revisited this post a few times now, taking in the rich details in both your wonderful photography and your fabulous words, Andy! What a GREAT story you’ve woven here! Truly fan-flippin-tastic my good friend!!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you so much Toad. It’s really just a bit of light-hearted post Christmas fun. He visited the Vet yesterday because he was limping and made such a commotion about a cat in the waiting room that he was told to go and wait in the car park. He got his own back by peeing on the waiting room floor when he was allowed back in. He’s a dog with attitude!

  10. seekraz says:

    Very nice, Andy/Bertie…charming, holiday story told from a different perspective…. 🙂

  11. ehpem says:

    What a fun post, and so many pictures! Bertie appears to have an embedded camera magnet.

Comments are closed.