Season’s Greetings

The Christmas Festival is approaching at an alarming speed and I am way, way behind with my list of ‘things to do’ before 25 December.

The images in today’s post are all of Stained Glass that I have collected this year – see the captions for details of their origins.

Madonna and Child (Sancta Barbara Chapel at Zum Zee, Zermatt valley)

Madonna and Child (Sancta Barbara Chapel at Zum Zee, Zermatt valley)

One thing that the Christmas season brings is a welcome sparkle of colour to liven the bleak colourless landscape of winter. One area of colour that I take particular interest in is Stained Glass. Some, but not all of this, has religious significance. And unsurprisingly quite a number of Christmas cards that we give/receive feature Nativity related scenes.

Sancta Barbara Chapel, Zum Zee, Zermatt valley

Sancta Barbara Chapel, Zum Zee, Zermatt valley

Primarily though, the purpose of this last Post before Christmas is two-fold:

Firstly, I send you all my Best Wishes for the Christmas Festival. In saying that I realize that our blogging community is multi-cultural and multi-faith and for many of you reading this the Christian meaning of Christmas is not something that is a part of your lives. But for all of us (hopefully), whatever our faith, we have days off to be with our families and friends and in the modern terminology to ‘Chill’.

The Catholic Church, Morzine, Portes du Soleil ski area

The Catholic Church, Morzine, Portes du Soleil ski area

Secondly, a sincere ‘Thank You’ to all those who have visited this blog, ‘Liked’ a Post, posted a comment, signed up to be a follower, or publicised it on Twitter, Facebook or elsewhere. Thank you all so much. Your support and interest is a huge encouragement and much appreciated by me. In turn I have enjoyed greatly following many of you who are regular visitors to this blog.

Panel in the Reformed Church, Zermatt

Panel in the Reformed Church, Zermatt

The Gallery of new work that lands on my desktop each day is a source of continued inspiration to my own work. We all strive to develop as photographers and our creativity is constantly refuelled by seeing other photographers quality work. Keep Posting and I will keep viewing and commenting on your work as time allows. During the last few weeks I haven’t had the time to do that as much as I would like – a situation I hope to remedy shortly.

Glass Panel in the Dairy, Wrest Park, Bedfordshire

Glass Panel in the Dairy, Wrest Park, Bedfordshire

Enjoy the holiday break, I will be back for a post sometime towards the end of Christmas week.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Season’s Greetings

  1. Lovely series of images Andy. Wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas and all the best for the new year.

    Like

  2. oneowner says:

    The best to you as well, Andy.

    Like

  3. janina says:

    Have the merriest of Christmases, Andy! Look forward to seeing your work next year. :O)

    Like

  4. ehpem says:

    Best wishes Andy – I hope you have a good time with family and friends. And keep the great posts coming, I love it that i never know what I will find when I drop by.

    Like

  5. rigmover says:

    Stunning shots Andy, have a great Christmas.

    Like

  6. Len says:

    Beautiful images Andy. I hope you and your family have a great holiday season.

    Like

  7. Wonderful images Andy. I hope that you and yours have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New year!

    Like

  8. seekraz says:

    I enjoyed the photos, Andy…used to see quite a bit of stained-glass as a child, but not much since. I hope your holidays were great, “chillin'” with family and friends…. 🙂

    Like

  9. mark says:

    Happy belated Christmas and best wishes for 2013 to you Andy. Many thanks for your regular visits and comments on my blog. I love stained church glass and this is a great set you captured.

    Like

Comments are closed.