Double Take

Each day, for God knows how many days now, I sit in my study in front of an iMac screen and watch the rain fall. It seems to have been happening for so long that I can’t remember when we last had a dry day! Our Victorian house has sash windows and raindrops hang on the bottom of the middle rail of the window in a long line. Last week I decided it was about time I took an image of these drops that hang there, suspended in space. Click on any image to see a higher quality enlargement.

IMG_3813_wp

A few days later, while working on this image, I looked up at the window again and spotted the relationship between the screen and the latest set of raindrops that hung there on the middle rail like their predecessors. I saw the potential for an image of the sash window and the screen image counter-balanced? So I set the Canon G10 to 400 ISO and fired off a few shots. And to my very great surprise the images looked OK: the light balanced. In fact it required less post-processing than many of my images. Below are two different versions of the ‘Double Take’. But which is the better of the two?

IMG_3816_wp

The first shows almost all of the screen image with the offset window.

IMG_3817_wp

But compositionally I think the second squared image is stronger showing the inter-relationship sufficiently; homing in on a small portion of the screen with the window taking a proportionately larger space.

What do you think and why? Do post a comment and let me know your thoughts.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Double Take

  1. richardhaas8 says:

    I would prefer the first image with just a little of the “dark” cropped from the bottom. However, the bottom image tends to bring the rain into importance. So, Mr. Hooker, I take the cowards way out and say…………..I like them both for their own style.

  2. oneowner says:

    I’ll pick the second shot because the actual drops on the widow are more noticable. But, really, we’re nit picking.

  3. ehpem says:

    I am with Ken on this one. Same reason, plus for some reason there seems to be more similarity in the scales of the two views (though in fact I don’t think it is real, it just seems that way to me).

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for your comment. I think you are right. I think the proportions of the elements in the second shot are important as both you and Ken say. Happy New Year to you and yours.

  4. Marcie says:

    I love that first image. Just so perfectly simple….Wishing you and yours all the best for the up and coming new year!

  5. rigmover says:

    A great shot, clean and simple, but it can stop raining now.

  6. seekraz says:

    I admire that you noticed the drops in the window while working on the image, but then you would be given to doing that, since you noticed them to begin with…. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Scott. It was one of those moments when I suddenly made the connection between the screen and the window and thought ‘I wonder how it would turn out if I took an image of the screen and the window.’ I was really surprised when I got a perfectly usable image first time!

Comments are closed.