On a showery day

Implicit in the forecast for showers are the two possibilities that (a) you might be fortunate to miss them and (b) in the gaps between showers there might be sunshine. If you are fortunate on both counts then you will have struck lucky.

I struck lucky on Saturday. The weather forecasters had done their best to cheer us up by suggesting that between the showers we might see some spectacular skies and they were not wrong. Towering cumulus clouds were very much in evidence, and as I looked around me, grey curtains of rain hugged the horizon and that is where they stayed. I remained dry.

Late April is the time when many of our fields turn bright yellow due to the flowering of Oilseed Rape (Brassica Napus). Fields are turning but the cool weather has slowed the flowering and they are yet to reach their peak. One reason I was out was to search out those elusive images of yellow field, green tree and blue sky that I will return to in a week or two. Currently the trees remain bare branched.

Today’s three images come from a three mile walk around the fields close to our village as the tumultuous sky and distant showers drifted by

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Garden Plants and Wild Flowers, Landscapes, Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to On a showery day

  1. ChrisdMRF says:

    Great captures Andy, I particularly like the 3rd one. Sums up the weekend to a T

    Like

  2. Three great shots which really capture the drama that often accompanies weather between the rain! So often we are not out and about when skies and colours are revealed in such conditions. The oil seed rape crop against the dark skies adds depth to the pallette of colours which is often lost on brighter days. Thanks for sharing…

    Like

  3. rigmover says:

    yeah its the 3rd one for me too, great photos, thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Len says:

    Terrific images Andy. I used to hate when the weather was not good but I have discovered it results in more interesting and dramatic images such as these. Well done.

    Like

  5. leadinlines says:

    Hmmm, I’m a bit of a cloud fan and these are right up my street Andy! To me they can make an ok image a real WOW one.

    Like

  6. seekraz says:

    Such beautiful photos, Andy…I love the power in the clouds and the richness of the green and blue. Very nice. What a beautiful place to live. 🙂

    Like

  7. They are great love the 3rd one, I guess its because you can see the winding road and suddenly that amazing weather coming forward!

    Like

  8. Terrific images Andy. Those are some spectacular clouds. I love the last image. Beautifully composed.

    Like

  9. I don’t know how usual these skies are where you are, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen any like this in Florida or Ohio. So glad you caught them, and so well.

    Like

  10. myallegro31 says:

    That last image is fantastic!!! I love the parade of blues and greens and yellows… nice work Andy 🙂

    Like

  11. ehpem says:

    I’m with the third one too – great skies but a really nice tree, echoed in the background by another.

    Like

  12. Victoria says:

    WOW, very nice… wonderful pictures!

    Like

  13. Well done. Running out during those weather breaks can yield some great opportunities.

    Like

  14. Fantastic images, Andy. I am partial to clouds since I live in Eastern North Carolina where cloudless days are rare. Really like that first shot with all of that depth and drama. Great shot!

    Like

  15. Pete Buckley says:

    Nice shots Andy – I’ve always thougt this type of weather gives good light for photos and between showers the atmosphere can have exceptional clarity.

    Like

Comments are closed.