Summer in the Tree Plantation

I paid my third visit to the Tree Plantation at the end of last week and found it to be a sea of green – so different from earlier in the year when there were variations in leaf colour. Click here and here to view previous visits.

On this last occasion I travelled light – just the new Lumix LX100. This is producing beautifully sharp images and all the images in the last six posts have been shot using it. The Lumix offers four aspect ratios : 4:3, 1:1, 16:9, and 3:2. Three of those aspect ratios are used in today’s images.

These images are more about the overall feel of the plantation and less about individual trees, which for the most part now merge together. My next visit will be in Autumn.

Meanwhile one final image converted to B&W.

All images can be seen enlarged by clicking on them individually.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Summer in the Tree Plantation

  1. shoreacres says:

    Here it is, only 9:45 on a Saturday morning, and I’ve already learned something. I somehow missed aspect ratios. When I checked my camera, there they were: the four that you mentioned. I took photos of a small painting across from me using the different ratios, and said, “Ah, ha!” I think your first image is the 1:1. I’m not sure about the others, although I suspect the third might be the 3:2. At any rate, now I have something new to experiment with.

    The color images are so special. The variation in the greens in the first two photos is especially pleasing. What a joy it must be to have such a place near enough to visit. It’s beautiful, and so are your photos.

    Liked by 2 people

    • LensScaper says:

      Do you have a Panasonic Lumix too? The aspect ratios are around the base of the lens in my case. Actually three of the images are 3:2. Strange, as a I really thought the vertical format image was 16:9. The fourth as you correctly say is square. In all cases these images are uncropped.
      It is a joy to have discovered this place, especially as it was the result of a very brief ‘notice’ out of the corner of my eye while driving. Back at our previous house was had a small stand of poplars nearby that was also planted in a grid formation so justifies the term ‘Plantation’. I photographed that in winter and I must remember to post something from that site this coming winter (but I don’t want to think that garb ahead). Today the Temp is nudging 28C (82F) and tomorrow and monday we are promised 30 or 31C. Not high by your standards I am sure but a bit of a shock to us!

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        I have a Canon Rebel T6s, and the aspect ratios are hidden away in a menu, which explains why I missed them. I skipped a few things when I was learning the camera, just because I was overwhelmed by the number of options. Now, I need to go back and reexamine the menus. I suspect a good bit will make more sense to me now.

        Like

  2. Sue says:

    Love the monochrome image, Andy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LensScaper says:

      Ah! I couldn’t resist the temptation to see how one of the images would look converted to B&W. FYI – there is now a lot of undergrowth between the trees themselves but it is still easy to walk around the edges of the site. Personally I think it was more photogenic a few weeks ago and I think it will become so again in the Autumn. The foliage is now quite dense. There are still images to find, but on my last visit I found it hard to find something new to say about it. That said, it remains IMHP a great place to visit.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I like your second photograph here even as I find it puzzling. Are you looking up a hill, or is the blue reflected in water?

    Liked by 1 person

    • LensScaper says:

      I’m looking more or less straight ahead (maybe slightly uphill) through undergrowth and also through part of the plantation. What you are seeing between the tree trunks is the lower part of the sky and the canopy of the plantation fills the top of the image (overlaid with foreground branches).

      Liked by 1 person

  4. paula graham says:

    I love your plantation photos lots, all of them!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heide says:

    Your images are breathtaking, Andy! You are clearly getting the most out of your new camera; I’m so delighted to see you are (obviously) enjoying working with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lignum Draco says:

    Lovely plays with composition. It’s a beautiful area. I can see this is going to provide inspiration and opportunity for many seasons to come.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lisa Gordon says:

    Such a fantastic perspective in all of these, Andy!
    Beautifully captured.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. bluebrightly says:

    I really like the second image, because it seems to be the most abstract, resolving into bands of color. And of course it’s fun that it shows horizontal bands of color in what is a very vertical landscape. That image is perfection!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.