Old Wood, New Wood

Something completely different for today’s post. Those of you who follow this blog, or are regular visitors, will know that I am always on the look-out for unusual images that can easily be missed. Today’s images are of wood – used simply as panelling. It was when I was processing the first image (of old wood) that the idea of counter-balancing it with an image taken three weeks ago (of new wood) came to mind.

This first image is of part of the end wall of a simple log cabin in the woods on the Ashridge Estate. I presume this was once a gamekeeper’s cottage. The old bleached timbers, partially shed of bark and in places yellowed with age appealed to me as a study in textures. I included a small triangle of the roof timber at the far top right just to hold the image in.

As I processed this, my mind flipped back to a morning we spent in Grizedale Forest in the Lake District three weeks ago. We stopped off for coffee and cake at the Visitor Centre, and while I waited in the courtyard I searched for an image and found some new wood panelling beside a doorway. The grain in the wood was rich and characterful and there was a small section of contrasting colour and some metal work that aided the composition.

I will be interested to hear what you make of these: do feel free to comment.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Old Wood, New Wood

  1. Len says:

    Nice details and textures in the images Andy. I really like how the two images contrast with each other.

    Like

  2. Sweet shots, Andy. I like that old wood and it’s character. Nice textures and details in both images.

    Like

  3. oneowner says:

    I really like these, Andy. I believe photos of texture, color and grain can stand on their own and are wonderful subject matter. Well done.

    Like

  4. I like wood, both old and new, so I like both, especially since they are together.

    Like

  5. Beautiful details especially in the first image.

    Like

  6. Like the textures in the first image. Nice shots.

    Like

  7. Wonderful lines and textures in that first shot.

    Like

  8. Toad Hollow Photography says:

    Without a doubt, one of my favorite posts today so far. I get totally entranced by these character studies, especially when the main subject is rich texture like this, Andy. Well done, fine sir!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you kind Sir! These are a couple of those little images that I stumble across unexpectedly. Wood is an amazing natural element and it’s a constant source of inspiration in all its shapes and forms.

      Like

  9. seekraz says:

    They complement each other well, Andy…textured images of notions or ideas…like yesterday and today….

    Like

Comments are closed.