The Black and White Seat

I’m stating the obvious – this is an image, in black and white, of a seat. But then there’s a little twist: the seat is white and it has an oblique shadow that is black. That is also stating the obvious as shadows are always er…black._DS78006_wp

On a slightly more intelligent level it was the lowness of the sun, mid-afternoon 2-3weeks ago, that created the oblique shadow that attracted me to this seat. Taken at Wrest Park on the same day as ‘Hanging There’ and ‘Tree Line’. It was quite a productive day.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Black & White and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Black and White Seat

  1. coast72 says:

    Such an easily overlooked detail , love it 🙂

    Like

  2. Len Saltiel says:

    Great tones Andy and you are right, that shadow makes this really work.

    Like

  3. That is an excellent shadow. It’s so good, in fact, that I barely notice the bench itself.

    Like

  4. oneowner says:

    The shadow is more of the main focus than the benches. A really nice shot, Andy.

    Like

  5. athyfoto says:

    I really like the shadows in your image and the way the slight unevenness of the stonework has caused an offset in the shadow verticals. I feel that there needs to be a little more space on the left, that’s subjective, probably just me. Well seen and captured!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for that comment, Frank. I’ve just taken a look at the original RAW image before replying. There was a small amount of space that could have been included at the left of the image, but I didn’t use it because it was beyond the window (in shadow) and was light toned wall and I didn’t really like the image with a brightly lit left edge. But I do agree, the seat it a little too tight to the left edge – maybe I should have moved the furniture!

      Like

  6. mark says:

    For some photos the photographer’s primary skill might be composition, in others processing, but in other instances the main contribution is to notice something so simple yet elegant. Well spotted.

    Like

  7. vastlycurious.com says:

    Great concentration ! I love it!

    Like

  8. Nice use of light and shadow to add interest and depth to this scene, Andy.

    Like

  9. poppytump says:

    The strong low black shadow gives an appearance of being a rather more comfortable seat than real thing Andy 😉
    Something of a music manuscript about it too in my mind …
    Very nice !

    Like

  10. So you managed to wrest a good photograph out of the things you found in Wrest Park.

    Like

Comments are closed.