Tree Line

Wrest Park is a place we have been to several times before but not this late in the year (click Here and Here for previous posts). A different time of year is guaranteed to yield a different crop of images – any place takes on a different guise – and Wrest Park is no exception.

My eye was drawn to a long line of trees along the side of the American Garden. These trees were swept clear of leaves and the bright sun was bleaching their skeletal outlines allowing them to stand clear of the taller foliage behind them.

_DS77967_wp

Once I got close a different image emerged. Precise lines of trees with long shadows cast by the late afternoon sun, low in the key. And that one tree, leaning heavily – breaking the symmetry. Click on images to see a much better quality, sharper enlargement.

_DS77979_wp

Both images were processed in CS5 and then Topaz B&W effects, where I used an Infrared Pre-set, with final sharpening in Topaz Detail.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Country Houses & Gardens and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Tree Line

  1. Len says:

    Nice use of the infrared preset Andy. It really makes the bark of the trees stand out.

    • LensScaper says:

      The infrared pre-sets really act a little like a curves adjustment increasing contrast substantially. As with all such tools they only work in certain situations but they worked well here. Thanks for commenting, Len, as always.

  2. rigmover says:

    Superb shots Andy.

  3. Love these Andy. You did a great job on the processing and B&W conversion.

  4. oneowner says:

    Both of these images are great, Andy. I have yet to use the Infrared preset in Adjust successfully as you have but I intend to keep trying. I know it is capable of good results.

  5. Oh, that one tree that’s leaning over! I like it so much.

  6. seekraz says:

    I especially like the second shot, Andy…nice find….

  7. Nice Andy, I like the second best!

  8. ShimonZ says:

    I love these shots of trees in a row…

  9. Chillbrook says:

    Smashing shots Andy!

  10. Very impressive images, Andy. I really love that 2nd shot with the long shadows and that leaning tree. These are great!

    • LensScaper says:

      I remember walking over to this line of trees with nothing in particular in mind and then saw this leaning tree – the image was a no-brainer and the infrared preset in Topaz B&W effects worked a treat.

  11. Love these and the leaner : )

  12. Yes, it’s the “leaner”. Chuckle… Dramatic images, Andy. The infrared preset really worked well for these images. I use the Topaz filters much more often than the NIK filters now. I always run every image through the Noise filter. It’s far better than any other noise reduction filter I’ve ever tried. I bought a new one, Topaz ReStyle, that is interesting too. You might like the tones for monochrome. All of the effect in it are highly adjustable.

Comments are closed.