Faces at the Window

Earlier this week I was back in London to see the superb Lichtenstein exhibition at Tate Modern on the Southbank. A huge and impressive show including all his best known work plus some lesser known examples. It closes on 27 May – if you are in the UK, do not miss this.

I followed my familiar route from Charing Cross station: over the Thames to the Royal Festival Hall complex and then a 20 minute walk along the Thames to the massive bulk of Tate Modern (originally Bankside Power Station). There is always something new to see on this walk: constant re-development, seasonal change, and places to re-visit.

Today’s images come from Gabriel’s Wharf – a riverside centre featuring craft and design shops, small restaurants and cafes. It’s one of those features that populate the walk. I’ve visited it in the past but clearly without my ‘Seeing Eye’. How could I have missed the wall!?

IMG_4645

Flanking one long side – maybe 30-40 metres long is the old back wall of a large building. Some years ago this was overpainted imaginatively to imitate the façade of a line of buildings with windows of varying styles. The paint is beginning to peel, the colours are muted and fading. Look carefully and at one set of windows you will see a group of people peering out.

IMG_4644_Top

A cleverly executed idea, so easily missed. I wonder how many people who visit this precinct glance up and spot this little gem. Certainly not me, previously!

Click that last image to see an enlargement – for a much sharper and clearer view.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street, Street Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Faces at the Window

  1. athyfoto says:

    A wonderful way to change an ugly imposing wall into something attractive. It is well on it’s way out by the looks of things but you have documented this little piece of social history for all to see. Thanks for sharing your image.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks. I got quite a kick out of finding this – it’s quite high up on the wall and I suspect many people are completely unaware of it. Sadly, I have not been able to identify exactly how old it is or who painted it.

      Like

  2. Len says:

    That is such a cool find Andy. It is a clever idea to enhance an old building.

    Like

  3. ehpem says:

    I think this probably looks better in its weathered state than it did freshly painted – it is more mysterious – a bit like there is a layer of old and dead ivy on top of a real set of windows.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks. You are right, when I was processing it, my first result was too bright and I needed to toned it down to be in keeping with the feeling of age and decay.

      Like

  4. oneowner says:

    That is impressive and very imaginative. This is a great idea for others to follow, too.

    Like

  5. theaterwiz says:

    Great find! Love it

    Like

  6. ShimonZ says:

    This is quite a find! Really enjoyed the bottom picture.

    Like

  7. Toad Hollow Photography says:

    Really, really neat Andy! Well photographed, my friend!

    Like

  8. This is so cool. Nice find and photos, Andy.

    Like

  9. Jim Nix says:

    cool, good find mate!

    Like

Comments are closed.