Blue sky dreaming

This image was taken 2-3 weeks ago from the relatively warm internal arcade of Milton Keynes shopping centre. Gazing out through the internal reflections and warped reality to the blue sky beyond. A reminder of warmer and brighter times of the year. It’s bitterly cold here in the UK this morning.

IMG_3580_Sol2

The colours are over vivid deliberately to create a dream-like mood. And the colours are the consequence of taking the original colour file, solarising it and then inverting it. They came as a very pleasant surprise when I tried this out. Just another little bonus – the result of exploring Photoshop and just seeing what happens when you select one of those hundreds of options. Try it – just do something a little crazy once in a while. Try the ‘What if I…….’ scenario. You may experience an unexpected creative ‘moment’. At no charge to your pocket.

Click the image to view a higher quality enlargement.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Eclectica, Milton Keynes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Blue sky dreaming

  1. seekraz says:

    I like the symmetry and lines…drawing us out there into the blue…. Very nice, Andy.

    Like

  2. Awesome capture with the lines and the sky.

    Like

  3. Great lines and colors Andy. An example of an experiment gone right.

    Like

  4. Excellent result. I love trying new effects as well but you have to start out with a well composed image with great lines as you’ve done here.

    Like

  5. ken bello says:

    The solarising effect is perfect for this photo, Andy. I’ve tried this with Photoshop and it’s pretty easy and flexible. I remember trying to do this in the darkroom. It was very difficult, time consuming and expensive, since results were hard to replicate.

    Like

  6. athyfoto says:

    That’s a really nice outcome Andy. One thing all the Photoshop educators at NAPP tell you is to PLAY with Photoshop and have fun with it. Your picture is proof that it’s a good thing to do!

    Like

  7. rigmover says:

    Thats a really cool shot Andy.

    Like

  8. ehpem says:

    Hi Andy – this worked out very well. I confess to some visual confusion though. The fine lines runnging across the upper middle third are I assume some kind of ceiling tile, maybe reflected or maybe on an outside structure. My confusion is the from the way they line up perfectly with that thin window frame, all the way across. Is this just you framing the shot perfectly, or is it some architectural gimmick? Regardless, it fools my eye into not being sure if that is a reflection, if the lined surface is going up, or away, and so on. A long comment about a small thing that is hard to articulate. Short version is, I like it!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment. The joy of this image for me is separating the reflection from the reality. Part of the image is a reflection of the ceiling slats and the glass wall that is behind me. The main verticals and the top section of the sky is the direct image – the remainder of the geometry and the lower ‘sky’ panels are reflected. It was impossible to get an image as precisely symmetrical as what you see here, but it was very close to being symmetrical. I cropped the original image down the centre line, made a copy of that crop which I flipped horizontally and then stitched the two together to provide the perfect geometry that you see here.

      Like

  9. ehpem says:

    Now I see – thanks for the explanation. And clearly you did take a great deal of trouble through the view finder to get the foundation for this picture. It works very well.

    Like

Comments are closed.