Overhangs

Every month I go down to London to a meeting of the Camera Club at the Royal Society of Medicine. It’s always an enjoyable occasion. I belong to two camera clubs and from each of them I acquire new ideas and skills, and I derive inspiration from the work of other photographers.

What I also enjoy about my regular trips to London, are my walks with a camera from the train station (Euston) into the heart of the West End and back. I vary my route deliberately if the weather is reasonable, and on every journey I find something new to capture.

 Today’s image is another shot of a glass fronted building on the Euston Road. Click the image to view an enlargement. Reflective glass is the new building brick. These buildings fascinate me with the way they reflect and warp their surroundings. On the day I took this image the sky was grey and rain threatened. There were no reflections of interest, but this building is noteworthy for the way in which the upper floors overhang the lower ones in a stepped arrangement, and the horizontal ‘overhangs’ contrast sharply with the vertical panels.

Leaves were disappearing fast and those that remained lacked interest. This essentially was a study in stark black and white – any hint of colour was redundant. Processing was therefore very simple: desaturation and an increase in contrast. Finally, a quick tidy up with the Healing Brush and the Clone tool – all done in five minutes.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Overhangs

  1. Len says:

    Wonderful tones Andy. You are right about brick buildings. They are becoming a thing of the past.

    Like

  2. oneowner says:

    It has a simplicity that is very appealing. Well done.

    Like

  3. munchow says:

    The building does look like very interesting architecturally speaking, but what I really like about this picture is the contrast between the dynamic forms of the leaves and the geometric forms of the building. The use of black and white is perfect for this setting.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Otto. I think you have summed up my image better than I could have done. I think the building would have been too stark without the leaves to act as a contrast in shape and form

      Like

  4. It is an inspiration to meet fellow photographers, Andy, either in camera clubs or here in the blogging world.. 😉 Nice hoto with a strong composition.

    Like

Comments are closed.