A Play on Words

I caught sight of this rubbish bin a few weeks ago just round the corner from the Photographer’s Gallery in London.

It is said that all publicity is good publicity, or to put it another way (in a phrase that has been credited to the American showman, Phineas T Barnum): ‘there is no such thing as bad publicity’.

And so, here I am happily publicising this company whose clever Strap Line, or Tag Line is ‘Our Business is Rubbish’. It certainly caught my attention.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Play on Words

  1. Len says:

    Love the patterns and color contrast on this Andy. That is a creative slogan.

  2. ken bello says:

    It may look like rubbish but it smells like money. I do like a good tag line like this and the photo has some interesting graphics as well.

  3. seekraz says:

    We have an area up here in our mountains near Alta, Utah, called “Albion Basin….” So this is an Albion bucket or dumpster…something like a waste-basin…at a little stretch…. 😉

  4. munchow says:

    It’s a great tag line for a company. It makes you stop and think – which is exactly what we photographs want to achieve, too, isn’t it? The picture speaks for itself. Graphically I like the horizontal stripes from the closed gate, repeated with broader stripes on the garbage container itself.

  5. Great catch, I love the business tagline

  6. Marcie says:

    Too funny! I guess it could be read any and either way. It does make me wonder what goes thru people’s minds…:-)!

  7. What a funny but very effective tagline. These folks are smart marketers. I have never seen a pinkish container for trash / rubbish. Clearly designed to stand out.

    Great shot, Andy.

Comments are closed.