The Mezzanine window

Something simple and abstract for Friday.

This is the view through the frosted (and slightly tinted) Mezzanine window on our staircase.

For a brief while in the morning sunlight penetrates the narrow gap between our house and our neighbour’s obliquely striking the brickwork of the window’s reveal. And for a few minutes the brickwork becomes a melange of red and gold.

Finally this week I got round to capturing this all too brief flood of light.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Mezzanine window

  1. Len says:

    Very cool abstract Andy. Goes to prove that waiting for the light is worth it.

    Like

  2. I like it Andy…very cool. The light makes the shot.

    Like

  3. hdrexposed says:

    That is just so cool Andy, really great find and you are right, looks like it was worth the wait!

    Like

  4. I like the abstract look to this one!

    Like

  5. Phillip says:

    Cool shot Andy. I love the colors. Great shot.

    Like

  6. ehpem says:

    I love these colours. What a nice thing to have happen for a few minutes some days. It’s effects like this that bonds one with a house, that non-residents don’t know about, that define the experience of the person living in the house. Every house/flat I have ever lived in has something of this sort, and many of them were pretty grotty in other ways.

    Like

    • ehpem says:

      Which makes me think – what a cool subject for a series of photos that would be, to capture the small things in a house that define it for those that are there to see throughout the year.

      Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for your comment. A fascinating observation. I just wish we had the light for longer on that window. It’s just an all too brief snatch of morning light.

      Like

Comments are closed.