The Mezzanine window

Something simple and abstract for Friday.

This is the view through the frosted (and slightly tinted) Mezzanine window on our staircase.

For a brief while in the morning sunlight penetrates the narrow gap between our house and our neighbour’s obliquely striking the brickwork of the window’s reveal. And for a few minutes the brickwork becomes a melange of red and gold.

Finally this week I got round to capturing this all too brief flood of light.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Mezzanine window

  1. Len says:

    Very cool abstract Andy. Goes to prove that waiting for the light is worth it.

  2. I like it Andy…very cool. The light makes the shot.

  3. hdrexposed says:

    That is just so cool Andy, really great find and you are right, looks like it was worth the wait!

  4. I like the abstract look to this one!

  5. Phillip says:

    Cool shot Andy. I love the colors. Great shot.

  6. ehpem says:

    I love these colours. What a nice thing to have happen for a few minutes some days. It’s effects like this that bonds one with a house, that non-residents don’t know about, that define the experience of the person living in the house. Every house/flat I have ever lived in has something of this sort, and many of them were pretty grotty in other ways.

    • ehpem says:

      Which makes me think – what a cool subject for a series of photos that would be, to capture the small things in a house that define it for those that are there to see throughout the year.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for your comment. A fascinating observation. I just wish we had the light for longer on that window. It’s just an all too brief snatch of morning light.

Comments are closed.