The Mezzanine Window – Part 2

Today’s post was not planned or anticipated as a follow up to ‘The Mezzanine Window’ when I published it 3 days ago. But over the weekend the blind, attached to this Mezzanine window frame a while back, was pulled down by my wife as she was concerned that too much sunlight might be harming some pictures hung on the staircase wall – not that the sun lasts for long, but it has been bright when it shines.

And that simple action of pulling down the blind immediately led to the Nikon being brought into unexpected use for a second time in capturing this window.

Seen at left (click to enlarge) we now have a two-part image, or maybe I should say an image of two halves.

And below a B&W conversion of the ripples of light projected onto the blind by the sun. An abtsract image in its own right.

I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on these alternatives to the image in the previous post. Maybe you prefer the one posted a few days ago?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Mezzanine Window – Part 2

  1. myallegro31 says:

    I think I like the color version better!! Nice work on these though, I still dig em!

  2. Rick says:

    The color window seems to tell more of a story.

  3. laz says:

    This is great and erie!

  4. seekraz says:

    I rather prefer the black and white, Andy…it’s more appealing, somehow…more muted, maybe, shows more texture than the softly blurred window by itself in the other post.

  5. I rather this one much more than the other, it’s richer and tells more. I like the contrasts of the colors and the different textures/materials.

  6. ehpem says:

    I like the abstracts. I think my own inclinations would have had me removing the wood and other visual “window” references from the photos and seeing how they looked completely separated from reality. I bet the one from a few days ago would work really well that way, and the black and white too, or a colour version of the black and white. I like them all.

Comments are closed.