The gap between

When we travel to other major towns in the UK, we realize how fortunate we are to live close to (but not within) the new city of Milton Keynes (MK) and its huge covered shopping malls.

When I completed my medical degree way back in 1971, Milton Keynes didn’t really exist. I vividly recall visiting the Design Centre in central London the following year where a major exhibition was held about the plans to develop a new city to be called ‘Milton Keynes’ about 50miles NW of London in North Bucks. At that time I was looking for a 3 year course to complete my training to work as a General Practitioner, and I applied for and got (purely by chance) one based in Northampton, 2O miles north of the site of the planned new city. It never occurred to me that I would end up spending the rest of my professional life working within a 20 minute drive of the centre of MK, watching its birth and development.

Car parking can be a problem in central MK – people flock to it from a wide area. But once you’ve overcome that difficulty, the ability to shop under cover in a warm dry environment is such a bonus – especially in winter. And being retired we can go shopping on weekdays when the centre is less crowded.

Light Stream_1 - click to enlarge

Today’s two images (taken on different days) feature the small gap between the original malls on the right and a major later addition on the left. In winter, light in the afternoon, streams through this gap reflecting off the glass exterior.  An image not to be missed.

Light Stream_2 - click to enlarge

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, Milton Keynes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The gap between

  1. Len Saltiel says:

    Very nice light and reflections Andy. Nice back story on MK. I never heard of it and might visit next time I visit London on holiday.

    Like

  2. Eden says:

    Lovely light in these.

    Like

  3. munchow says:

    I really like the way you see the world. You seem to be able to find those different angels that make a picture very interesting. The light in the first picture is gorgeous, but I still like better the way the shapes of the two buildings follow each other in the second picture. They do so, because you found the spot that made it happen. Great work!

    Like

  4. I like the POV and light in these shots Andy. Well done.

    Like

  5. Marc says:

    Nice light to these images Andy. I’ve been to Milton Keynes a couple of times and I found it quite a strange place. A bit of an oddity!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Marc. I certainly wouldn’t want to live there! But….A good theatre, A great Jazz venue, a real ski slope, 40mins by train to London, close to M1, good shops, some nice walks. Oh …and plenty of roundabouts!

      Like

  6. Your pictures are so clear, and I love the beautifully reflected light.

    Like

  7. These are both very satisfying images, making it hard to choose between them, if asked. Great work, then!

    Like

  8. Marcie says:

    Stunningly beautiful urban light! Love the reflections. Just wonderful!

    Like

Comments are closed.