Dog Rose

Dog Rose (Rosa Canina) is a climbing wild rose principally native to Europe. It climbs in a chaotic way into trees or sprawls shrub-like if a tree is not available. This rose is in full bloom and yesterday we found a superb display of them as we took a walk over the edge of the Chiltern Hills.

_DS76202Summer is here and we are slightly discombobulated by the wall to wall sunshine, blue skies and seasonal warmth. So un-English from the dire wet summers of the last two or three years. Delightful nevertheless.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Garden Plants and Wild Flowers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dog Rose

  1. ShimonZ says:

    beautiful rose

    Like

  2. Len Saltiel says:

    Beautiful detail and color in this macro Andy

    Like

  3. munchow says:

    You have really captured the beauty of this rose. Rich in details and displaying the intricacy of the wide open petals.

    Like

  4. oneowner says:

    I’ve not heard of the Dog Rose but it is gorgeous. And a very nice shot this is, too. Enjoy the weather, it’s only temporary.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. They really are a rather special wide flower. As to the weather – we’ve had a longer string of good days than I can remember for several years – our luck will no doubt soon run out, especially now that I’ve mentioned it!

      Like

  5. Great natural colors and detail, Andy. Nice capture.

    Like

  6. ehpem says:

    Very nice composition in this shot. What a nice looking rose, a bit like a wild rose we have here, but it is not a climber. I am glad to hear you are finally getting some nice weather. We are in the middle of a nice long stretch of apparently perfect weather. I am hoping it will keep up until after I have spent a day in the Olympic Mountains this weekend… I will bring my rain gear though…

    Like

  7. Jim Nix says:

    wow, perfectly sharp! nicely done Andy!

    Like

Comments are closed.