Advertising Windows

Another brief trip to London this week, which also happened to be School Half Term holiday week, so trains were filled with horribly noisy small children who hogged all the seats meaning the older members of society were obliged to stand. Also, this past week has been London Fashion Week: an important event in the year’s calendar.

On a quick walk down New Bond Street to a gallery exhibition I found a major retailer whose windows were entirely given over to advertising LFW. The dramatic graphics, either on the windows or as a backdrop to the window displays, intrigued me and I lined up a shot of one major window from the other side of the street waiting for a little foreground interest. A lady in a red coat kindly obliged.

_DS74767_final_wp

It wasn’t until I was processing this image that I spotted the sunglasses on a mannequin (otherwise largely obscured) at the very centre of this display panel. I saw a creative possibility there and… I was off on one of my creative rummages through Photoshop’s toys.

A crop, a radical increase in contrast, levels adjustments and then Posterization and Solarization and something very different appeared on the screen. I liked what I saw and here it is.

_DS74767_wpIt’s not an image that will appeal to everyone, but the point of showing it is that sometimes, in addition to the image you were primarily capturing, there is something altogether different lurking within that first image if you can only see it. Just suspend normal thought processes and think tangentially. Try something radical, and occasionally you will be rewarded by a bold new image. And remember, in the digital era one more image will cost you nothing but your time.

As always click on an image to see a higher quality enlargement.

Do let me know your thoughts on today’s image.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in London, Seen on the Street and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Advertising Windows

  1. Two very different images, but both very striking – for me the first one works best, but the second one prompted a smile 🙂

    Like

  2. oneowner says:

    This is definitely a successful experiment and especially so since it’s a “picture in picture”. A lot of photographer might stop at the first photo because it really is a great shot as it is but i like the fact that you saw a completely different shot hiding within.

    Like

  3. Very cool Andy. I do like the whimsical nature of the second image.

    Like

  4. ABarlow says:

    This is really freaking cool man. I would approach the shop owner with this one 🙂 If anything to be like, ” Hey, look what I did with what you did!.”

    Like

  5. Len says:

    Great eyes Andy. Like the first one with the lady in red and the second one is just plain cool.

    Like

  6. ehpem says:

    I like them both, but if I had to choose I would take the second for its originality and eye-grabbing quality.
    London seems to have some very creative people designing shop windows – is this what artists do to pay the rent for a studio?

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for that. Window Dressing can certainly be justified as an Art form judging by the quality of some of the displays one sees in the more expensive streets of London

      Like

  7. Marcie says:

    I always love when that happens – when the camera sees and records things that we miss. What fun window scenes!!!

    Like

  8. These are very cool shots, Andy. I find that many windows on stores and shops make wonderful photo ops. You’ve captured a couple of stunning shots here.

    Like

Comments are closed.