In Step

I’m outside my comfort zone photographically with today’s image. I seldom photograph people. And I felt very self conscious standing in a wide open space with a compact camera that at times (by the way you hold it) can feel a lot more obvious than an SLR.

This image was taken in the main indoor square in Milton Keynes shopping centre and I was attracted initially by the bright shaft of light that stretched across the floor. Then I spotted people crossing the light path and I saw the potential for an image. Stuck at ground level the top halves of every person became lost in the muddled shadowy background on the far side of the square. Unfortunately there was no possibility of finding an elevated position from which to shoot that allowed me to capture whole people within that shaft of light. So I had to settle for their lower halves – and I found these two. I fluked a perfect ‘in step’ shot of the two of them, and when I looked at them at home discovered two others disappearing off screen, appearing also to be in step. Hence the title. It’s different, but not really my style. Comments?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Black & White, The Human touch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In Step

  1. rigmover says:

    Im with you on this one Andy, But I do find it a lot easier to photograph people on my travels abroad. Great shot.

    Like

  2. Len says:

    Nice play with the light and shadow Andy. I am not a people photographer either but you have done a nice job of adding interest with them.

    Like

  3. oneowner says:

    I don’t photograph people very much either, but on occasion a shot like this can be very I interesting. As far as composition is concerned, I think it’s better with the people “cut off” and maintaining the shadow play.

    Like

  4. Toad Hollow Photography says:

    I think it’s AWESOME! Love the drama and tension here, Andy, you’ve really created something new and special!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Toad. I don’t normally do this type of shot, it’s good to occasionally step outside one’s comfort zone and see what turns up. I’m glad you liked it.

      Like

  5. Great shot. I’m also not a people photographer unless is something spectacular with lighting, etc.

    Like

  6. I agree Andy candid street photography is out of my comfort zone as well. I do really like how you’ve composed this shot and perfect post title.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for commenting Edith. This seems to have been liked better than I thought it would be. Just shows how hard it can be to evaluate one’s own work sometimes.

      Like

Comments are closed.