Entlebucher_2

Last weekend we went over to our daughter’s flat to see her Entlebucher puppy for the second time. If you missed the first post about this new addition to our family then click the link that follows: ‘A new addition to our family‘.

Bertie – as he will be known – is learning some good habits, but perpetuating and developing bad ones on a daily basis. Currently he is going through the phase of exploring the world via his teeth to assess its bite-ability. This includes anyone’s socks, shoes and trousers especially when they are mobile, as well as every static object that is within range. His teeth are needle sharp – I have the puncture marks to prove it

The good news is that by tomorrow all his inoculations will have provided him with the necessary immunity to Distemper, Parvo virus etc and he will be allowed out in public places to explore green parks etc. My daughter is hoping that the exercise might tire him out a bit and make life in her flat a little easier. Fingers firmly crossed!

Photographing him is a nightmare due to his inability to sit or stand still. Pet photographers must have the patience of a saint. He looks shy and retiring in front of the camera – but don’t be fooled. When in possession of a toy  there is a steely determination in his eye. Given the chance he would have loved to test the bite-ability of Nikon equipment. But he was denied the chance!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Animals and Wild Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Entlebucher_2

  1. rigmover says:

    Nice looking dog, great shots.

  2. Len says:

    Looks like you will be having a bit of fun with Bertie. Our dog Jack has completed his training of my wife but is still having problems training me. 😉

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. I think the cattle herding instincts of the Entlebucher are hard wired into the breed. I suspect it will be a battle of wills between the owner and Bertie as to who is herding who. I believe he is off to his first Obedience class later this week. I’d love to be a fly on the wall to see how he gets on.

  3. What a gorgeous pup! My wife, in particular, loves multi-toned dogs like this. I keep forwarding your mails to her so that she can build a case for getting a new puppy.

  4. Great puppy portraits Andy. Sounds like he’s a handful.

  5. Oh my GOD! Look at that face!!!! How can you denied a Nikon equipment to that beauty! jajaja. He’s going to a wonderful pup! Now he’s got a daddy photographer!!! Great shot..

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for commenting Laz. He can certainly put on the look for the camera when he’s got a mind to – but that is for only a fraction of time.

  6. In that first image, he’s looks like ” I will never do anything wrong”..lol lol

  7. oneowner says:

    Now a really bad dog would buy his own Nikon from Amazon and charge it to you. This kind of behavior should be discouraged, but how can you look into those eyes and say “NO!”.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I was contemplating buying a second Nikon body…..but I think I would struggle to persuade my wife that the dog was responsible for it’s purchase and passed it on to me because he was unable to read the user manual. But maybe she might buy the idea that to get the best possible pics of this dog (that she thinks is gorgeous) I need a better camera. Worth a try!

  8. He is gorgeous. Look at those eyes…how can you get made at such a sweetie pie. You did a great job of photographing him Andy.

  9. What a great looking puppy! Great images.

Comments are closed.