The eyes on the board

About a year ago I disposed of a defunct laptop. Having read articles about the potential  for old data files that you thought had been wiped from the hard drive prior to disposal to be ‘retrieved’; and knowing that the laptop contained Health Service data there was only one solution. Pulverize the hard drive. That required stripping down the laptop piece by piece.

A few days ago I was on one of my regular missions to reduce the volume of rubbish that continues to accumulate despite all my best intentions and came across two circuit boards that for some reason I had retained.

I took one look at one of those boards and reached for the camera. I propped the board on a desk near a window took a few frames and half an hour later, after a bit of experimentation, the image you see above stared me in the eye. I liked what I saw.

Do you see a pair of eyes, with irises and pupils? I did. It was a fluke of the lighting that one of them turned out darker than the other. You just never know where that next image is going to come from.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The eyes on the board

  1. rigmover says:

    Yeah eye’s or a cassette.

    Like

  2. Len says:

    Cool shot Andy. I have a drawer full of old hard drives waiting for me to destroy. Never thought about photographing the old boards. Great idea.

    Like

  3. oneowner says:

    I always found those patterns to be fascinating. Nice work.

    Like

  4. Creative image Andy. Eye like it. Sorry.

    Like

  5. I definitely see eyes…very creative Andy. I would have never thought to photograph a circuit board. I need to start thinking outside the box 🙂

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Edith. I think I must have kept the circuit board with the idea of photographing it, but I had forgotten that by the time I found it! Until I looked. Most circuit boards are frankly uninteresting – but I just saw two eyes, or lenses stopped down, or as someone else has pointed out – a cassette.  I doubt there will be any more like this!

      Like

  6. seekraz says:

    Very clever, Andy.

    Like

Comments are closed.