Men Upstairs

Life around us can be full of unintended flashes of humour, the occasional double entendre, and suggestive word-play. You just have to be on the look out for it. ‘Men Upstairs’ the sign says… in a clothing store actually.

But add an exclamation mark – ‘Men Upstairs!’ – and suddenly the mind can go off at a tangent and imagine a few alternatives implied by the concept of Men Upstairs. Are there men upstairs? Available men? If there are, no-one in the picture appears to be in a great hurry to avail themselves of men upstairs.

It’s all in the mind of the observer – it’s Friday – time for something a little light hearted!

This was never a brilliant image technically – one of those grabbed shots in passing. Not very sharp; but a rummage in the filter gallery can help to disguise that fault. Two versions here – colour and B&W.

Personally, I think I prefer the gaudiness of the colour version – there’s a slight tackiness about the colour that is in keeping with the suggestive idea behind the sign. However neither image is an example of brilliant image making – just a bit of fun. Have a chuckle and enjoy them.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Men Upstairs

  1. rigmover says:

    ‘Men upstairs’ or ‘Bar upstairs’ has the same effect on me. Great shot and well seen.

  2. oneowner says:

    Yes, the color version suits this very well. I love these fun shots but you really have to keep an eye out for them.

  3. Len says:

    That’s funny Andy but would have even funnier if it read “Women Upstairs”

  4. Yes, the gaudiness of the color version definitely contributes to the impact. The Ohio park where I take most of my summer photographs has a sign in the parking lot that has no visual appeal, but I love the wording: “Alcoholic beverages and dogs not allowed.”

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi Linda – and many thanks for your comment. I’m glad you agree about the colour version. Is there an implied link between dogs and drinking too much, do you think? I sometimes think people never read what they write, or get a second opinion upon it, before they go public.

Comments are closed.