On April 20 previously I saw

The weather here in the UK remains depressing – dreary, cold and showery. And just to cheer me up the headline in one of yesterday’s newspapers proclaimed that May’s weather would be worse! Well, I really enjoyed reading that!

From my records it is now official – Spring Is Late. I know that because at this time of year the camera is normally out on a daily basis documenting the changes in the garden and I have just checked back through images shot on April 20 in each of the last 3 years and they confirm it. Spring is now definitely late – I realize my assessment is hardly scientific but it is interesting to be able  to compare Spring year by year.

So to cheer us all up here’s what has previously been happening on April 20 in the last 3 years.

On this day in previous years, Apple blossom was well established. Today the trees are speckled with tight buds of blossom, waiting for sun.

 On this day previously the Wisteria leaves were gracefully unfurling and the flowers were in bloom. Leaves today are vestigial bundles of filaments. Flower buds are well developed but the flower heads are hidden.

And on this day Smoke Bush leaves were establishing themselves. Today they too are tight leaf buds

But there is always something that bucks the trend showing how fickle and unpredictable Spring can be. In 2010, Plum blossom was late, choosing to arrive at the same time as Apple Blossom.

I hope that brightens up someone’s day. It will all turn out right eventually. Patience, patience.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Garden Plants and Wild Flowers, Microscapes, Spring and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On April 20 previously I saw

  1. It has been weird weather here, as well. We had a freeze warning one night, and the next day went to 29.4C. (I did the F -> C conversion for ya.) I hope everything fruits for you over there.

    And yes, it’s always nice to see flowers in the morning. Cheers!

    Like

  2. Eden says:

    Have to love spring. Lots of new vegetation to photograph 🙂

    Like

  3. I know what you mean Andy the weather has really been eird here as well. A couple of days ago I left for work and it was -2 C and I put on my winter coat and today it’s 20C. Lovely images. I love the third image and how those red leaves standout from the background. Have a great weekend.

    Like

  4. Victoria says:

    Beautiful pictures!

    Like

  5. seekraz says:

    I think they are very pretty, Andy.

    Like

  6. Marcie says:

    Spring is one of those seasons that never quite arrives in quite the right way. Fun to look back at what was..

    Like

  7. Phillip says:

    Amazing images Andy!

    Like

Comments are closed.