The Theodul Pass Zermatt

A foggy frosty morning here in the UK, and a very cold misty day high above Zermatt at the Theodul Pass when this image was taken last winter. Theodul is on the Swiss-Italian border and an important link between the Zermatt and the Cervinia ski areas.

IMG_2668_BW_wp

From this viewpoint the Matterhorn’s profile is significantly different from the classic view we are all familiar with when viewed from Zermatt.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in MountainScape, Skiing - Zermatt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Theodul Pass Zermatt

  1. oneowner says:

    Great shot, Andy. Perfect in monotone.

    Like

  2. Very cool image. Your choice to use monochrome is perfect. N-ice job. 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow what a view! Great image Andy. I like the black / white.

    Like

  4. smackedpentax says:

    What a stunning view! and a superb photo too!

    Like

  5. Mark says:

    Very cool shot Andy, great in B&W

    Like

  6. seekraz says:

    Different perspective, yes, but still a beautiful shot, Andy…I do enjoy the skiers in the photo, too…we are so small in the grandness of it all….

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Scott. Throughout my life I have always felt that photography underplays the size of mountains. The Matterhorn is an ever-present feature in the Zermatt area – it dominates in a dramatic way.

      Like

      • seekraz says:

        You’re welcome, Andy…and do you think that’s done intentionally to minimize their presence or because it’s a failing of the photographers’ ability to capture them complete because of their vast size? I’m not sure I understand your angle..but I do comprehend how a particular mountain can dominate an area, my local reference being Sundial Peak and the prominence it plays in photographing Lake Blanche and the other Sister Lakes in the area….

        Like

        • LensScaper says:

          My point really is that although photography can squeeze a huge mountain into a frame by employing a wide-angle lens, it can never convey the immensity that we see by craning and turning out necks to take it all in.

          Like

          • seekraz says:

            Excellent point, too…it’s all just waaay too big. We can admire a mountain in a photograph, but we can only be humbled by it and in true awe of it when we are standing beneath it or scrambling up its sides….

            Like

  7. ehpem says:

    Great image! I love that fence all curved to fling errant skiers back on course.

    Like

Comments are closed.