Quenching a Thirst

Today’s post follows on from yesterday’s. That post ‘Lambing – a tale of two seasons’ visited Ivinghoe Beacon and contrasted two shoots of the Lambing Season. A walk in warm sunshine makes a man thirsty – and a woman too. And so on the way home we repaired, as is our custom, to a convenient hostelry – Grove Lock – beside the canal just south of Leighton Buzzard, where a Marina has recently been developed. A recommended pub if you are passing and a lovely place to down a beverage whilst sitting in the great outdoors watching the world drift by.

Last year we downed a couple (one each, someone was driving) of Peroni Nastro Azzurro, an Italian Beer, served in attractively shaped and beautifully engraved glasses. That called for a picture, naturally.

Earlier this week, my wife spoilt the compositional possibilities by ordering a glass of wine instead!

Not daunted I still produced the camera and did the best I could, with a couple of close-ups added in.

My activities attracted some highly curious looks from lads at adjoining tables who must have wondered whether I was from the Health Inspectorate checking the clarity of the beer, or had been let out of the local Secure Establishment for the afternoon!

They just didn’t get the picture!

This seems to be a sensible way to conclude a busy week. We’ve all earned a drink or two, anyone out there building up a thirst? Enjoy the weekend.

Cheers, Salut, Santé everyone!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Quenching a Thirst

  1. Navin Harish says:

    Lovely. My kind of shot, I am fond of beer and whisky shots.

    Like

  2. ehpem says:

    Love that first shot. I like good beer too, and fortunately such a thing is now widely available in this part of the world with microbreweries all over the place. But, nobody around here has such perfect glasses.

    Like

  3. Terrific shot Andy. That’s a good way to end the week. have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

  4. Digging that first shot big time, Andy. I like how the print on the glass is aligned and those little burst of light at the bottom. Making me thirsty. 🙂

    The lines reflection in the last shot is very nice as well.

    Like

  5. Andy, Very interesting images, I like the reflections in each of them!

    Like

  6. Toad Hollow Photography says:

    As I rest a spell overlooking The Hollow, I suddenly find myself pining for a wee dram of something amber and delicious. Well done, fine sir, a series worthy of the highest nobility to be sure!

    Like

Comments are closed.