I think I may have misunderstood the Dress Code

A little observational humour for a Monday morning. Today’s image is another from the V&A Museum that I paid a second visit to this past week with my wife. (click here for the previous Post about/of the main courtyard of the V&A).

This time I took a proper camera and a couple of lenses. We lunched in the café, which is where this image comes from (click to enlarge it).

I think I may have misunderstood the Dress Code - click to enlarge

I spotted this on my first visit but didn’t have a wide enough lens for the subject. This ‘find’ just brings a smile to my face. The sight of this classic statue of a lady (with the faint suggestion of bewilderment in the way her head is turned), clutching a long piece of fabric to cover her embarrassment, but with her posterior features fully exposed, immediately suggested the title for this image – and for the post. Whether anyone else has noticed the potential humour in this or whether, when the statue was positioned, it was with a touch of ‘tongue in cheek’ by the curators – I know not.

But I share it with you – to brighten your Monday morning blues!

The great thing about a wide lens is that you can get close to the ‘object’ without the general public around you realizing that they are also included in the frame. Andy Beel in his excellent blog, posted something that capitalized on this concept yesterday. By which time, this post of  mine was already planned. That honestly is a sheer fluke! Click here to view Andy Beel’s post – it’s well worth a look.

I must tell you that the café in today’s image is a modern addition to three inter-linked wonderful original eating areas.  I really had to include a hand held single frame image (camera propped against a convenient pillar) of one of these areas just to show you how amazing these areas are.

Extraordinarily ornate – they are worth a visit in themselves. If you are ever in London – do visit this place.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure, London, The Human touch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I think I may have misunderstood the Dress Code

  1. andybeel says:

    Hi Andy this picture and caption made me smile – thanks

    http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

  2. Very funny title and back story Andy. The lights in the second image are really cool. Well done, my friend.

  3. I love that first shot and yes…the title and post certainly did bring a smile to my face this Monday morning. 🙂

  4. ehpem says:

    Great shots. The woman with the cane could be my grandmother (where she still alive).

    A good example of a museum treating its customers well while taking their money 🙂 I actually am serious in that comment – so many museums channel their visitors through grubby additions in the form of gift shops and coffee rooms in the hopes of reaching into their wallets one last time. I often resent it (even though I understand how hard pressed museums are). I never felt that way at the V&A, and would come here just to use the coffee shop when I lived in London a couple of decades ago. It looks different in your pictures, but it was no less elegant at that time.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for your comment. It’s so long since I was last at the V&A that I can’t remember what it was like. But the entire Museum is free which is extraordinary considering what it holds. Good food too at reasonable prices.

  5. seekraz says:

    Couldn’t help but smile…. And it would be tempting to get spoiled by eating in such a beautiful place. Very nice.

Comments are closed.