Season’s Greetings

Season’s Greetings to you all from Zermatt. I wish you all a memorable and happy Christmas holiday with your friends and family. A little confession: I’m not actually in Zermatt but the image is of/from Zermatt – a slight distortion of the truth that I hope you’ll forgive. But – in five weeks my wife and I will be there physically. Roll on the end of January!

Zermatt in Winter – click to enlarge

In the depths of winter with heavy falls of snow blanketing the Alps in the last week or two (in the nick of time for the ski season), this seems an entirely appropriate Christmas Card to send to all of you reading this Post, both to celebrate the forthcoming holiday and as a ‘Thank You’ for visiting my Photoblog.

Plaque commemorating Paul Sechaud

The image is of a large work of art on metal attached to the end wall of a Bakery in Zermatt by the celebrated Zermatt Artist Paul Séchaud who died in 1982.

I believe the words ‘Carrefour’ and ‘Icke’ (respectively French and German) translate into Crossroad and Corner. And the building to which this painting is attached is on a corner where several roads intersect in the traffic-free village of Zermatt high in the Valais Alps of Switzerland.

On the same wall is a memorial plaque to the artist. – see left.

As I write this it is Dec 21 and my first post on this blog was almost exactly 3 months ago. How time flies. I started this blog wondering who, if anyone, would read my scribbles. I had two ‘names’ I had stumbled upon in the world of Blogs (I can’t remember how – but call it serendipity) but nothing more. It has been quite a surreal experience discovering myself propelled on an accelerating curve of interest driven by my posts, the mentions and re-tweets of others on Twitter, the recommendations of complete strangers and the way the Internet facilitates the interactions of the blogging community.

I have found a generosity of spirit amongst fellow Photobloggers from across the globe that I didn’t expect – but am humbled to receive – and a growing list of ‘followers’.

‘Thank You’ for visiting and reading this: whether you are a new visitor, or a ‘regular’. If this is your first time, then do re-visit.

If you are a ‘regular’, then my sincere thanks to you for your loyalty. I hope I will be able to reward that loyalty with a selection of images and stories across a broad canvas in 2012 that will continue to interest and hopefully inspire you.

Finally a special thanks to those of you who have commented, and used a variety of resources to promote interest in my Photoblog. I really do appreciate that. I always look forward to seeing your work. Each day, through the power of the Internet, I am able to discover a new virtual gallery of images to enjoy – it’s an inspiring experience. Long may it continue.

This is my last post before Christmas. I’ll be back on Thursday Dec 29 with ‘Lights, Camera, Action!’ a Post about some light-hearted and briliant Artwork in Chamonix. Don’t miss it.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure, Seen on the Street and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Season’s Greetings

  1. Len Saltiel says:

    Great post Andy. I agree with your sentiments. I started my blog in May and have been very happy to find such a wonderful community. Thanks for all of your posts and comment along the way. Have a great holiday.

    Like

  2. Really nice post Andy! I’ve found the same response and support among our fellow photo-bloggers over the last year. Hope you and yours have a wonderful holiday and a fantastic time in Switzerland!

    Like

  3. Marc says:

    Well said Andy. Like you I started my blog this year (about 5 months ago) and have appreciated the same friendly, talented community of photographers that visit my site on a regular basis.

    Like

  4. Jimi Jones says:

    Another outstanding post, Andy!
    I certainly agree that the community of photographers we’ve come upon this year has been spectacular. It’s a true pleasure to experience such an unplanned, but dedicated effort by those who regularly invest of their time to support and promote the work of others.

    Safe travels to you, friend and may you and the family have a fantastic holiday season.

    Like

  5. Adam Allegro says:

    Oh man, I am so jealous of you! I wish I was there. I am literally salivating right now. The closest I am getting to snow in the next couple weeks is a sunrise hike up Vesuvius on Monday Morning, being that there is about a half an inch of snow covering the tip. Merry Christmas to you buddy, be safe out there and hopefully things work out and we can meet us sometime in 2012!

    Like

  6. Dave DiCello says:

    Andy what a great shot and an awesome write up! Sorry that I didn’t get the chance to respond to your e-mail, been off the blog for about a week! I really appreciate all the support you’ve given me as well! I hope that you had a great holiday!

    Like

  7. A.Barlow says:

    That was a nice read man. Hope to see some more of the same awesome work in 2012. Have fun in the alps!

    Like

  8. Toad Hollow Photography says:

    Top, top drawer my friend! What a wonderful post. I am not sure how I missed this earlier this week, you’re blog is definitely in my RSS reader. Please accept my apologies for that, Andy. What a wonderful sentiment, and a wonderful way to wrap up this years holiday season. You have been a kind and supportive friend to us all year, and for that we’re immensely thankful. We’re not sure how we can express these thoughts fully, but please rest assured they are truly heartfelt. Best wishes to you and your family for the New Year. Here’s hoping you have a wonderful time on your vacation the end of January. We’ll be thinking of you and hoping that you are having fun. Take care, my friend, there is no doubt we’ll be in close touch in 2012!

    Like

Comments are closed.