Red Centre

Wherever you go in London you can almost guarantee that a crane – indicating a building site – will form part of the view. Change and development are part of the capital’s everyday life.

Southbank is no exception. Walking along from the National Theatre to Tate Modern recently I took a slight detour to check out a new development and was faced by the concrete skeleton of a new development. The site was silent and empty except for one man, in red.

Post305_DS75566I waited patiently, hoping he would move to a more compositionally ‘correct ‘ position in the frame, but after five minutes or so it was clear he wasn’t going to be moving on any time soon. He stayed Dead Centre, and so I thought  – man in red is the picture, de-saturate everything else (not that there was much colour in the first place).  And the title was easy – Red Centre.

Remember to click the image for a higher quality enlargement.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Red Centre

  1. And here I was expecting a photo of the Australian Outback 😉
    Love this Andy and I quite like that he’s in the centre. Great shot! 🙂

    Like

  2. Len says:

    Love the pattern and lines Andy. The red adds a great contrast to the image and works quite well.

    Like

  3. Fantastic Andy. You really have an amazing eye.

    Like

  4. Love this image Andy! It’s an abstract with a pop of red! 🙂

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Rachel. It’s nice to buck all the rules once in a while. And it actually is a very symmetrical image with the red spot right at the centre. It’s fun finding images like this and working out how to get the best out of them.

      Like

  5. Even if the man in red didn’t cooperate the way you wanted him to, it’s still a great shot! (Maybe he knew what he was doing?)

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Melinda. In situations like this you either shoot what you can, or walk away. I’ll always choose to shoot. The time to bin a shot is later at home after careful consideration on a big screen and even then I prefer to hang on to the failures and re-visit them a month or two later.

      Like

      • I almost never delete an image. As I learn more about Photoshop, things that were unusable even a year ago are coming into play again. That Dream series I am working on is drawn largely from blurry mistakes.

        Storage is getting to be a problem, though, so I might have to change my methods!

        Like

  6. Really nice use of patterns and lines Andy.

    Like

  7. oneowner says:

    I don’t mind the focal point in the center. Rules were made to be broken. This is proof!

    Like

  8. I actually think that keeping the red splash in the centre works better here. I did a quick masking with sheets of paper to place him on each of the four power points but found that the composition just did not work as well.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Interesting comments, Mark. Thank you. I tried cropping the image too but then the verticals were all messed up (and it looked all wrong). The Rule of Thirds just does not work for every image.

      Like

  9. Really funny, but when I saw your title “Red Centre” in the link back on another blog where you’d commented, I imagined it was referring to the centre of Australia and Ayers Rock/Uluru! This has turned out to be a pleasant surprise, then. A great idea for a shot, and having that red in the centre works well, in my opinion. All the best…

    Like

  10. Jim Nix says:

    great catch!

    Like

  11. Alex Khoo says:

    What a nice work in composing the shot! Great work!

    Like

Comments are closed.