Leaf Litter

My first Leaf Panel is not quite along the lines of the planned project for Leaf Panels, but this was an easy panel to assemble to see how images would look in a grid. I’m reasonably happy with the result, the true test will be when I start to create a panel of similar single leaves and decide how to construct the layout.

Seven of the nine images were shot in a half an hour Sheffield Park. The two that were shot last Autumn are the images of Sycamore leaves – top centre, and middle centre.

Two images were shot on an iPhone 6S, the rest on my Lumix LX100. But which were those two?

The project is progressing with a growing collection of single leaves and I hope to have a completed panel by next week.

And the answer to the question is that it is bottom left and bottom right that were shot on the iPhone and had very little processing apart from sharpening. The iPhone is an impressive gadget.

Remember to click on the image (probably twice) to see the full enlargement.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Leaf Litter

  1. I love the autumnal colours in these shots.

  2. Dina says:

    It’s a lovely gallery, Andy! A great idea. And yes, one has to klick twice to see the enlargement. Amazing!
    It’s interesting what you write about the iPhone. A couple of months ago I got the 7 plus because of the two cameras and I’m happy with it. The photos are fine for Instagram and on a smaller scale, blown up (like on our blog this week) they appear somewhat noisy.
    Best regards, Hanne

  3. paula graham says:

    Continually impressive…you cannot go wrong with leaves!

  4. Sue says:

    Great gallery, Andy! I got some good autumnal shots around 3 years ago at Sheffield Park

  5. shoreacres says:

    It’s interesting that you mention drizzle. It’s the two iPhone photos that seemed wet to my eye — the others, not so much. I wondered if the iPhone was responsible, but now I’m wondering if others were drizzled on, too, but the camera rendered it differently.

    In any event, I love leaves, and you have a lovely selection of them. For me, the best autumn experience is walking at night — preferably late — through soggy, disintegrating leaves. It’s the smell, I think. Crisp, crackling leaves spell fun, but the wet ones are nostalgic.

    • LensScaper says:

      I was puzzled too by the relative ‘wetness’ of the images. The only thought I have is that perhaps there was some variability in reflectivity – some leaves being more in shaded areas, and others more out in the open. What also surprised me was the vibrancy of the iPhone images and I hasten to add that there was no processing to enhance the colours – they were just there – eye-popping.
      Autumn, as you rightly observe is about many things, there is a smell to it of damp and moulds. Mist and fog are also so much a part of Autumn (we seem to have had little of them this year), and as a kid I loved kicking my way through piled up dry leaves.

      • shoreacres says:

        I recently received a copy of a magazine put out by a society devoted to native plants of Texas. Looking at the photos on the front and back covers, they looked strange to me. I finally decided that they’d been oversaturated, and that was what gave them their unnatural look.

        When I mentioned it to someone, she said that many DSLR photographers are beginning to oversaturate their images in post-processing to “keep up” with the vibrancy of iPhone pics. Whether it’s true or not, she said that the phones are programmed to saturate colors more deeply, to make the photos more appealing. It’s an interesting side note to all the hype over the phones.

  6. Chillbrook says:

    This is a lovely gallery of images Andy. Very nicely balanced. The cameras on smart phones now are very impressive. I use an Android Samsung and sometimes, that’s all I’ll have with me and though the images don’t enlarge in the way pictures from my Nikon do, the pictures are really good. I love the way phones are opening up photography to so many people.

    • LensScaper says:

      My iPhone is with me 99% of the time when I am out – and the results really do surprise me. I was out capturing shots of Autumn this morning on my way to buy the sunday paper. I am enjoying this Leaf project, it’s been the catalyst for a whole new way of viewing and recording Autumn.

Please feel free to comment, and join the discussion.

